FIFA World Cup 2018: Players who have a chance at glory

Updated on: Jul 3, 2018 6:43 pm IST

Predicting FIFA World Cup 2018 is becoming very iffy now, whatever the experts predicted so far went wrong and they have been proven wide of the mark with every game. Germany, Argentina, Spain, Portugal’s exit are the severe point of discussion after wrong Predictions. Defending champions were knocked out of the world cup by South-Korea who was not among the big dogs of the tournament. Right now, Uruguay, France, Brazil, Belgium, Russia and Croatia will be facing each other in the World cup Quarter-final. So there is an interesting fact that came out.

Every Single player left in (the competition) has never won it(FIFA World Cup)…& Amazingly, none of the players left in the competition had ever played in a World Cup Final.



Players who have never been so fortunate to play the World cup final but they can stand on the other side this time.

Image Credit: @Twitter

Neymar Jr. –Neymar inducted in the world cup squad for the first time in 2014 when Brazil hosted the World cup but in that Brazil played till Semi-final and got knocked out by Germany and the humiliation took place. In this year, Brazil is in the last eight, and it’s time for Neymar to play his first world cup final.

Image Credit: @Twitter

Eden Hazard- Hazard was introduced into the Belgium squad in 2008, but they weren’t able to qualify in 2010 World cup later in 2014, Hazard was the captained, and Belgium was knocked out by Argentina in quarter-finals. This year, Belgium is in last eight, and they can make it to their first world cup final.

Image Credit: @Twitter

Luis Suarez-
Suarez was first time named into the Uruguayan squad in 2007. In 2010, Uruguay climbed to the Semi-Final but got knocked out by the Netherlands. Later on, in 2014, Uruguay once again qualified but got knocked out in the round of 16 by Columbia. This year in 2018, Uruguay not just qualify but also reached the last eight so this year Luis Suarez can play his first ever world cup final.

Image Credit: @Twitter

Luka Modric- Croatian poster boy Luka Modric was called for the first time in the national squad in 2006. Fortunately, Modric was named in the world cup squad, but they ended up in the group stage against Australia. Later in 2010, Croatia didn’t qualify. In 2014, once again Modric was called in the World cup Squad, but they crashed out of the world cup in the group stage by Mexico. In 2018, due to their team combination and current form, they can reach the final for the first time.


Image Credit: @Twitter

Edison Cavani-  Cavani was included into the senior team in 2008, he was called up in the World cup squad 2010, but Uruguay crashed out from the Semi-final by the Netherland, and in 2014, they got knocked out from the Round of 16 by Columbia. This year, Uruguayans are unbeaten, and in great form, there may be a chance for them especially Cavani to play his first ever FIFA World cup final.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article