Indian Premier League (IPL 2019)
| On May 20, 2021 1:36 PM IST

Constructing IPL’s all-time XI


Over the span of 10 years, Indian Premier League has become the biggest source of cricket entertainment for fans across the world. The cricket bonanza has been graced by many modern masters of the game, from Sachin Tendulkar to Jacques Kallis, and Sanath Jayasuriya and more.


If you are to choose from all the stars, who all will make it to your all-time IPL XI? Rohit Sharma or Suresh Raina? MS Dhoni or Virat Kohli? Lasith Malinga or Dwayne Bravo? Sure, you will do some number crunching and archive scouring to put together a mix. We did it all, and here we are with our greatest all-time IPL XI.


Opening Batsmen

Chris Gayle and Gautam Gambhir

Gayle’s record in the IPL is as frightening as his batting. In 101 matches, the West Indian left-hander has hammered 3626 runs at an extraordinary average of 41.20 and a strike rate of 151.20. Add 265 brutal sixes and there you have the best player ever to grace the IPL.

Partnering him at the top is Gautam Gambhir, the most prolific Indian opener in the competition. Over the years, Gambhir has accumulated 4132 runs playing for Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders.


Related: Key Batsmen for each IPL team

Middle Order

Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma and AB De Villiers

In at 3 is the leading run-scorer in IPL history, Suresh Raina. Once the backbone of the Chennai Super Kings, the explosive southpaw has 4540 runs against his name.

At 4 is the mainstay of the Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma. Since his break out IPL season in 2008, Rohit has become India’s standout performer in limited-overs cricket. In IPL 159 matches, he has raced to 4207 runs .

At 5 is AB De Villiers, a cricketer with overflowing potential. In his IPL career, the South African has slammed 3 tons and has won 15 man-of-the-match awards.


Related: Top 5 IPL Rivalries

All Rounder

Dwayne Bravo

The Trinidadian all-rounder is one of the most sought-after Twenty 20 players across the world, for an exceptional flair and skill both as a bowler and batsman. Bravo has 122 wickets in 106 IPL games at the best bowling strike rate for bowlers with 100+ wickets in IPL, to go with 1276 runs he has amassed batting lower down.


Wicket Keeper

MS Dhoni

Dhoni, the face of the Chennai Super Kings, has led them in first eight seasons of the tournament. Under Dhoni’s command, CSK were crowned champions twice and finished runner-up four times. Dhoni is one of the most successful wicketkeeper-batsmen in IPL, with 3561 runs and 102 dismissals.

Related: 5 IPL Controversies


Amit Mishra and Sunil Narine

The second-leading wicket-taker in the IPL’s history, Amit Mishra has been an effective spinner in the tournament since the start. In 126 matches, the leggie has claimed 134 scalps.

Sunil Narine is still one of the unplayable spinners in the T20 circuit. Having claimed 95 wickets from 82 IPL matches, Narine is our second choice spinner.


Fast Bowlers

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Lasith Malinga

For a variety of reasons, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been dismissed as a star performer. Yet his IPL record suggests, he’s been a top bowler in the shortest format. In 90 IPL matches, Bhuvi has claimed 111 wickets.

The IPL XI would not be complete without Lasith Malinga, the undisputed king of T20 bowling. Playing for Mumbai Indians, the Sri Lankan pacer has claimed 154 wickets, striking at every 16.6 balls.


Special Mentions: Virat Kohli and David Warner


Now, it’s your turn to pick. Let us know who would you pick in your all-time IPL XI.


Himanshu Sharma

I chirp from the slips cordon, warm bench on football pitch and take part in social media banter.