Top 10 Batsmen who rule the Indian Premier League

Updated on: May 20, 2021 1:44 pm IST

Virat Kohli

One of the most-awaited tournaments of cricket, the Indian Premier League is all set to knock from April 7.

The 47-day overdose of thrill, fun and excitement would once again raise the bars for the T20 format of the game.

As we head towards an exciting eleventh edition of IPL, let’s have a look at the treasure troves of the IPL who have registered themselves in the history books of the tournament:

Highest Run Scorers of all time:

AB de Villiers

Image Credit

AB de Villiers, one of the world’s most loved cricketers is one of the most celebrated heroes of IPL as well. ABD started off with Delhi in India’s domestic league and went on to join the Royal Challengers squad after his successful journey of three years with Delhi.

RCB retained de Villiers this season as the player has remained the backbone of the team for many years.

Matches: 129

Runs: 3473

Strike Rate: 148.17

MS Dhoni

Image Credit: PTI

MS Dhoni who has led the Tamil bastion of the Chennai Super Kings from 2008 to 2014 is all set to make a comeback in the yellow jersey after two years. He has guided his team to clinch the coveted IPL trophy twice. Mahi is one of the leading run-scorers of the Indian Premier League.

Matches: 159

Runs: 3561

Strike Rate: 136.75

Shikhar Dhawan:

Image Credit: AFP

Shikhar Dhawan is one of the leading scorers of the Indian Premier League. Shikhar started his journey with Delhi Daredevils in 2008 and played for Mumbai Indians for two seasons and moved to Deccan Chargers the following season. He joined Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2012 and has matured as a player since.

Matches:  127

Runs: 3561

Strike Rate: 121.87

Chris Gayle:

Image Credit

Chris Gayle is known for his power-hitting techniques. The West Indies batsmen made his debut in the IPL in 2009 with Kolkata Knight Riders and went on to play for Royal Challengers Bangalore. The man owns the record for the fastest T20 century in 30 balls. The 38-year old player has always remained been an asset to India’s domestic league.

Matches: 101

Runs: 3626

Strike Rate: 151.21

Also Read: IPL all-time XI

Robin Uthappa:

Image Credit: BCCI

Robin Uthappa has played for several teams including Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Pune Warriors India and Kolkata Knight Riders . He currently plays for KKR and is the sixth highest run-scorer of IPL.

Matches: 149

Runs: 3778

Strike Rate: 131.64

David Warner:

Image Credit: BCCI

David Warner, Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper is the only overseas player to cross the 4000 run-mark. Australian cricketer made his debut with Delhi Daredevils in 2009 and represented them for five seasons. He was later signed by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014 and has remained one of the most prolific run-scorer of their team.

Matches: 114

Runs: 4014

Strike Rate: 142.14

Gautam Gambhir:

Image Credit: AFP

The former KKR skipper who has led the team to lift the IPL trophy twice is the fourth-highest run-scorer of the tournament.  Gambhir is all set to make a comeback to Delhi Daredevils after seven years. KKR’s highest scorer would try to make the best out of this tournament as well.

Matches: 148

Runs: 4133

Strike Rate: 124.64

Also Read: Gautam Gambhir’s Homecoming

Rohit Sharma:

Image Credit

Hitman Rohit Sharma can be considered as the most successful captains of the tournament. He is one of the best batsmen of the tournament too. Rohit joined Mumbai Indians in 2015 and has played impeccable knocks for the team.

He is the third highest run-scorer of the tournament.

Matches: 159

Runs: 4207

Strike Rate: 130.9

Virat Kohli:

Image Credit

The current world best batsman and cricket sensation, Virat Kohli is the second highest run-scorer of India’s cash-rich tournament. A key player of Royal Challengers Bangalore who has played for the franchise since 2008 also holds the record of scoring 973 runs in a single season of the tournament.

Matches:  149

Runs: 4418

Strike Rate:  129.83

Also Read: Team Preview: Royal Challengers Bangalore

Suresh Raina:

Image Credit: BCCI

Suresh Raina is the highest run-scorer of all time in the Indian Premier League. This year he is back in the Chennai Super Kings and fans are waiting to watch him back in the yellow jersey playing some match-winning shots.

Matches: 161

Runs: 4540

Strike Rate: 139.05

With the new season around the corner, many records are expected to get broken and certainly many new ones will be created.


Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article