Cricketers who played 10 years for a single IPL franchise

Updated on: Mar 7, 2018 11:43 am IST

The single most differentiating factor that separates cricket’s youngest format, T20 from its predecessors (Tests and ODI cricket) is its unpredictability. This Niche assumes magnanimous effects when we talk about the IPL version of the shortest format of the game.

In the 10 year history of the IPL with frequent auctions and changing demands of the shortest format along with a slump in form, few players have been able to sworn allegiance to one franchise. With the IPL 11 round the corner, let us today look at a list of players who have stayed in one team from the start.

#1 Virat Kohli (RCB)

From a chubby young teenager to a world-beating modern genius, the Royal Challengers from Bengaluru has been able to witness the transformation of the current Indian skipper Virat Kohli.


Embed from Getty Images

After leading India to the U19 World Cup win in 2008, Virat Kohli was bought by the RCB think-thank and have been a pivotal part of the franchise ever since. Kohli, who took over the captaincy from Daniel Vettori after the latter’s retirement was the only player retained by the RCB pre-2011 season. In 149 IPL games, Kohli has racked up 4418 runs at an average of 37.22 to go along with four centuries, all hit in the record-breaking season of 2016.

#2 Shaun Marsh (KXIP)

The left-handed Western Australian batsman was selected by the Preity Zinta owned franchise KXIP in the inaugural edition of the IPL. One of the most enigmatic Australian batsman of the modern era.

Embed from Getty Images

Marsh’s career has been a farrago of prodigious talent and startling consistency. His supreme talent was on full-show in the 2008 edition of the IPL where the left-hander ended up as the highest run-getter accumulating 616 runs at a staggering average of 68.44, earning the orange cap in the process. His superlative performance in IPL 2008 saw Marsh become the cornerstone of the Kings XI Punjab franchise and went on to play for the franchise till 2017.


In 71 IPL games Marsh, who has amassed 2477 runs at a respectable average of 39.95 went unsold in 2018 auctions following a lean season for the KXIP last year.

#3 Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians)

The veteran Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has been a pivotal component in the Mumbai Indians set-up ever since he was picked up by the franchise in 2008. Harbhajan captained MI for the initial part of the inaugural season in the absence of Sachin Tendulkar. However, his finest hour as a captain came in 2011 when he led the Mumbai Indians to a Champions League title win.

Embed from Getty Images

The vile off-spinner who has scalped 127 wickets in 136 games at an economy of 6.96, played a pivotal part in the 2013 and 2015 IPLwinning team. Harbhajan continued to be a part of Mumbai Indians till 2017 before he bought by the Chennai Super Kings for the 2018 season.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article