Gautam Gambhir’s Homecoming: Gambhir to lead Delhi Daredevils

Published on: Mar 7, 2018 11:41 am IST|Updated on: Mar 7, 2018 1:23 pm IST

Gautam Gambhir

Delhi Daredevils has unveiled their choice of captain for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League. Gautam Gambhir, who captained Kolkata Knight Riders for seven years would now be leading the team of Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2018.

With the Indian Premier League round the corner, the buzz is obvious.  Delhi Daredevils has formally announced Gambhir as their skipper.

Gambhir back in Delhi Daredevils:

‘It would be a privilege to lead Delhi Daredevils,’ he said.

‘It always feels great to come back home, I started my IPL career and my cricketing career from here,’ he added.

The hint

Former Australian cricketer and DD’s newly appointed coach Ricky Ponting had put forward his choice for the captain of the team by calling Gambhir’s leadership qualities and ability to guide the youngsters make him the best choice for the skipper.

‘Gambhir might likely lead the team next season,’ Ponting said in an interview.

‘We have talked to him about it. He is looking forward to making a comeback to Delhi and he might lead the team as well,’ he added.

Gautam Gambhir has guided Kolkata Knight Riders to two IPL victories during his seven years stay.  This year the franchise released him and Delhi Daredevils bought him for INR 2.8 crores.

Gambhir is the highest run-scorer of KKR; he has scored  3345 runs in 122 matches.

The 36-year old has played 148 matches in the IPL, amassing 4,133 runs at an average of 31.55.

His homecoming after 6 years and his record of sailing the team effortlessly makes him the ideal choice for leading the team Delhi Daredevils who have never clinched an IPL trophy.

Delhi Daredevils Squad:

Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris, Shreyas Iyer, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Dan Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichanne, Sayan Ghosh

Also Read: Dinesh Karthik to lead Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2018

Image Source: AFP

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article