Mitchell McClenaghan replaces Jason Behrendorff for IPL 2018

Published on: Mar 19, 2018 6:51 pm IST|Updated on: Mar 20, 2018 10:16 am IST

Mitchell McClenaghan

Kiwi pacer Mitchell McClenaghan would be replacing injured Jason Behrendorff of in Mumbai Indians squad for the upcoming eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League.

Australian left-arm pacer would not be participating in the tournament due to a back problem.

BCCI confirmed in its statement, “Mr. Jason Behrendorff would be ruled out of the VIVO IPL 2018 due as he is suffering from a back problem.”

“In accordance with the Player Regulations, the Mumbai Indians picked the player from the Registered and Available Player Pool (RAPP),” it added.

Mumbai Indians had bought Jason Behrendorff for 1.5 cr whereas McClenaghan was picked for his base price, 1 cr.

IPL technical committee has approved the replacement where McClenaghan would be playing his fourth season of the tournament. He was picked by any of the franchises in the auction that were held in January. Last year, while playing for Mumbai, McClenaghan had taken 19 scalps in 14 games.

Mumbai Indians would be clashing with Chennai Super Kings on April 7 for the opening match of the tournament.

Mumbai Indians squad: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Pat Cummins, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ben Cutting, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dhananjaya, Nidheesh M D Dinesan, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Sharad Lumba, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan.


For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article