Nidahas Trophy: Skipper Shakib Al Hasan ruled out

Updated on: Mar 3, 2018 6:30 pm IST

Shakib Al Hasan

The Nidahas Trophy, a tri-nation series slated to kickstart on 6th March, will commemorate the 70th year of Srilanka’s independence. India, Bangladesh and Srilanka would be locking horns with each other to claim the T20 tournament in the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

With the squad already announced, fans are anxiously waiting for the action to unfold. But, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced on Saturday that Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan has been ruled out of the T20 tournament due to a finger injury. This might be a major setback for the Bangladesh Squad.

Shakib was included in Bangladesh 16 man squad as BCB was hopeful of his recovery.

Mahmadullah to lead

Shakib was unavailable for the two-Test series and two-match T20 series against Sri Lanka due to a finger injury. The doctors have confirmed that the injury would take some time to heal, thus Shakib would not be playing in the Nidahas Trophy. Bangladesh batsman Mahmadullah has been named the skipper while Liton Das has been roped in place of the all-rounder.

For India, Rohit Sharma would be leading the team, while Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav along with Virat Kohli and Mahendra Singh Dhoni have been rested.

Bangladesh will take on India in the opening match of the tournament on Thursday.

Bangladesh Squad:

Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Islam, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Liton Das

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article