Neeraj Chopra and other Gold Medal Winners for India at Olympics – Complete List

Updated on: Aug 9, 2021 5:38 pm IST

  • India Gold Medalist

    The Tokyo 2020 Olympics emerged to be the best ever campaign for the Indian contingent. The people of the country were also quite excited to watch athletes in action, primarily due to the spirited performance of the men’s and women’s Indian Hockey team.

    Know more about Neeraj Chopra

    But, the gold medal won by Neeraj Chopra on the last day of the Tokyo Olympics 2020 got the country into frenzy after a gap of 13 years. The shooter, Abhinav Bindra won the gold medal in 2008. This article provides a comprehensive list of the gold medal winners for India at Olympics.

    Gold Winners for India at Olympics

    A total of 35 medals have been won by the Indian contingent in the history of Olympics. This comprises of 10 Gold, 9 Silver, and 16 Bronze medals. Here are the list of Gold medals won by Indian team in the history of Olympics.

    • 1928 Amsterdam- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    The wizard of Indian Hockey, Dhyanchand top-scored with 14 goals for the country and helped the team to win the gold medal.

    • 1932 Los Angeles- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    Dhyan Chand’s younger brother, Roop Singh scored 10 goals, while wizard supported with 8 goals to fetch India another gold medal.

    • 1936 Berlin- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    With 11 goals in 5 matches, Dhyan Chand again made way for India winning the gold medal for India and where Adolf Hiltler got impressed by the wizard and decided to offer him to play for Germany.

    • 1948 London- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    Balbir Singh Senior was the best performer for the team.

    • 1952 Helsinki- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    This time Balbir Singh senior scored the highest individual goals (5) in Olympic Finals, and won the gold medal for India.

    Know more about Mirabai Chanu

    • 1956 Melbourne- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    India beat Pakistan 1-0 in the Finals of 1956 Olympics.

    • 1980 Moscow- Indian men’s Hockey Team

    This marked the last Gold medal for Indian contingent in Hockey.

    • 2008 Beijing- Abhinav Bindra in Shooting

    Abhinav Bindra won the Gold medal in the 10m Air Rifle shooting.

    • 2021 Tokyo– Neeraj Chopra in Javelin Throw

    The athlete from Haryana, Neeraj Chopra who is also the Arjun awardee is the latest to join the gold medal group.

    For more Olympics news, click here

    Previous Article
    Next Article