Jasprit Bumrah beats Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma to win Top Award

Updated on: Sep 20, 2022 1:46 pm IST


Jasprit Bumrah is set add another feather in his cap this evening. He is to be named best male International cricketer for the year 2018-19 at BCCI Annual Awards in Mumbai.

Jasprit Bumrah takes Polly Umrigar Award

Jasprit Bumrah will take Polly Umrigar Award for his heroics in the season 2018-19. This award is given to best international male cricketer every year. Jasprit Bumrah has played crucial role for team India throughout the year and has also become critical member for Indian setup.

Since making his test debut in Cape town, Jasprit Bumrah has taken 62 wickets from 12 test. He also became first Asian cricketer to take five wicket hauls in South Africa, Australia, England and West Indies. Apart from that, he added Hat-trick to his name in test cricket during the Caribbean tour last year. He was also impressive in world cup campaign for team India.

In other significant awards, Cheteshwar Pujara and Jasprit Bumrah were recognized as Dilip Sardesai award winners for highest test runs and wickets respectively. Mayank Agarwal was honoured with best international debut for male. Vidarbha has been awarded for their overall performances in all domestic competitions during the season.

Twitter Reactions
Reactions are pouring in on twitter following the superstar’s recognition at annual awards.



Poonam Yadav claims best female International cricketer award

Poonam Yadav takes similar award in women’s category for the season 2018-19. Shafali Verma gets the best debut award in the same timeline. Smriti Mandhana and Jhulan Goswami top run-getters and wickets charts respectively at BCCI Awards.

Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra Honoured

Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra also recognized with lifetime awards. Srikkanth got Col C K Nayudu award in lifetime achievements award in Men’s category while Anjum Chopra took lifetime achievements award in female category.



For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article