Virat Kohli bags the ‘biggest honour’ in world cricket

Updated on: Jul 28, 2021 12:32 pm IST

  • Virat Kohli clinched ICC Cricketer of the Year

    Indian cricket team may have disappointed its fans by not performing well in the ongoing series against South Africa, there is finally a silver lining!

    Indian skipper Virat Kohli has added another feather in his cap by claiming the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the World Cricketer of the year for his achievements in 2017.

    Indian batting mainstay Virat Kohli clinched ICC Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and Captain of the Year honours for his phenomenal performance across all the formats in the past year.

    Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80 including eight centuries and made 1,818 ODI runs including seven centuries at 82.63, and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153.

    Kohli, who is currently leading India in an away Test Series against South Africa, is the first non-South African since 2013 to win the ODI Cricketer of the Year award.

    For the first time, Indians have won the ICC Cricketer of the Year award twice in succession. Off-spinner R Ashwin had claimed the honour last year.

    ICC instituted these awards in the year 2004 with Rahul Dravid being its first recipient. Kohli has now become the fourth Indian after Rahul Dravid (2004), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2016) to get honoured with the prestigious Cricketer of the year award.

    Kohli expressed gratitude on the win

    Video transcript

    It means a lot to me to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also ICC ODI player of the Year. I won that (ICC ODI player of the Year) back in 2012 also but this is the first time I’m winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it’s a huge honour for me. It’s probably the biggest award we have in world cricket and two Indians getting it back to back making more special. Last time it was Ash (R Ashwin), and this time I’m getting it, so I’m really honoured and thank ICC for recognising all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides. I congratulate all the other winners also.

    Next Article