Categories: Virat Kohli Stats
| On Sep 2, 2021 8:32 PM IST

India vs England Live: Virat Kohli Becomes FASTEST to 23,000 International Runs. Check Complete List


The captain of the Indian team, Virat Kohli has been standout performer across all the formats in the international circuit. His consistency has been the key to the team’s shattering success, especially in the ODI format since his debut. Since 2014, he has performed quite well in the longest format as well. He is the highest run-scorer for India in the T20I format. The batter holds the feat of being the fastest player to score 8000, 9000, 10000, 11000, 12000 runs in the ODI format. But the latest news is surely gonna give enjoyment to Kohli’s fans.

Virat Kohli becomes fastest to 23,000 International Runs

Virat Kohli will go down as one of the World’s greatest batsman due to his record breaking achievements and illustrious career. He has been an inspiration to the people for many years due to his fitness regime and now he has achieved another milestone. He has broken Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar’s record and has become the fastest batsman to score 23,000 International Runs.

Related: Twitter Goes Berserk as Ravi Ashwin is again out of India Playing 11

Virat currently has 7721 runs in Tests, including 27 centuries, 12169 runs with 43 centuries and 3159 Runs in the T20I format. This sums up to a total of 23049 runs, which includes 50 runs scored by Kohli in the ENG vs IND 4th Test.

List of Fastest Players to Reach 23,000 Runs

The Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar crossed 23000 Runs in 522 innings, while Kohli has broken world record by achieving the same feat in 490 innings. He has left away behind many greats of the game like Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara, Rahul Dravid, and Mahela Jayawardene.

Related: Cricket Twitter Reacts to Virat Kohli, James Anderson Funny BANTER

Here are the number of innings used by above players to score 23000 Runs in international cricket.

Virat Kohli- 490 innings
Sachin Tendulkar- 522 innings
Ricky Ponting- 544 innings
Jacques Kallis-551 innings
Kumar Sangakkara-568 innings
Rahul Dravid-576 innings
Mahela Jayawardene-645 innings

For more cricket news, click here