World Test Championship News

World Test Championship News: WTC Final is the biggest attempt yet by the International Cricket council (ICC) to put more value to the Test match cricket. The dwindling crowd and the lack of sponsorship in Tests threatened to kill the oldest form of cricket. But the ICC introduced a system that works like a league, with each team awarded points for every win and draw. The first World Test Championship cycle kick-started right after the 2019 Cricket World Cup, on 1 August 2019 and will conclude with the WTC Final 2021 match between India and New Zealand, scheduled to take place at the Rose Bowl from June 18-22. The play could extend to the sixth day in case the weather plays the spoil-sport.

ICC World Test Championship Format

ICC’s original plan was to hold a one-off test championship tournament every year, which was supposed to replace the ICC Champions Trophy, with the top four ranked teams playing in the competition; two semi-finals and one mega final. But in 2014, the ICC scrapped that idea. Back in 2017, the ICC proposed a Test League, which was agreed by all Test playing nations. As per the format, all nine teams would play two series against each other, one home and one away, in a span of two years, with the top two teams qualifying for the WTC Final 2021.

When Is Next ICC World Test Championship?

The next ICC World Test Championship will run from July 2021 to June 2023. The recently concluded two-match test series between England and New Zealand was neither a part of the World Test Championship 2019-21 nor it will be included in the next World Test Championship 2021-23 as it was added as an extra series, outside of the planned ICC Cricket Calendar.

World Test Championship News

India and New Zealand are set to run into each other to win the bragging rights of the best Test Nation in the world over the last two years. But many fans and pundits alike are of the opinion that the one-off game is harsh on both teams in reality. A three-match test series would have done more justice to the WTC FInal 2021. But all these are suggestions. The fact is there’s only one game, only one shot for both Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson to win the inaugural World Test Championship tournament.

Since this game carries so much value, and stakes are as high as there have been on a Test match, it’s important for fans as well to remain updated about everything happening around WTC Final. At India Fantasy, we are leaving no stone unturned to bring you every piece of news regarding the IND vs NZ WTC Final 2021 match. We will be bringing you India Playing 11 and New Zealand Playing 11 in WTC Final 2021. We will also be covering the WTC Final 2021 Toss, after toss teams, IND vs NZ confirmed playing 11, India Cricket news, New Zealand injury news.

Test Championship Latest News

In addition to the aforementioned news and playing 11s, we, at India Fantasy, will also be posting separate articles on the World Test Championship Latest News. If there’s a world class catch, we will post an article with an embedded video, or the wickets and every pulse-raising, heart-wrenching incident can be found in our articles on India Fantasy.Com

IND vs NZ WTC Final Squad

India Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Chesteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Umesh Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Wriddhiman Saha

New Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner BJ Watling and Will Young.