Liton Das’s stumping sparks another controversy
The Asia Cup final match was a classical drama that saw plenty of twists and turns before finishing on a high note. Both India and Bangladesh would feel proud for the fight they displayed despite the result but once again a spectacular contest was blotted by a controversy. The wicket of Liton Das who was adjudged stumped out by MS Dhoni on the bowling of Kuldeep Yadav has left some Bangladesh fans fuming. And they are crying foul over this decision.
Watch MS Dhoni’s magical glovework behind the stumps to dismiss Das
Litton Das produced his maiden ODI hundred to start the Asia cup finals in the best fashion for Bangladesh. He ruthlessly attacked Jasprit Bumrah and scored at a strike rate of 100-plus to give Bangladesh the advantage in the finals.
However, wickets fell in quick time at the other end and Das’s stay at the crease became beyond vital for his team. But at his individual score of 120, Kuldeep Yadav succeeded in beating him and MS Dhoni removed the bails in his all-too-familiar quick style.
The drift of the ball pushed Das out of the crease. Although he tried to get his right foot back in the crease quickly, he struggled as he was off-balance.
The third umpire took a long time to decide whether some part of his shoe was inside the crease or not. After several replays and angles, the umpire felt that Das’s shoe was on the line and he ruled the batsman out.
You can watch Dhoni’s lightening stumping here-
Quick stumping by MS Dhoni. Liton Das departs pic.twitter.com/xv3yuZ6DTF
— Khurram Siddiquee (@iamkhurrum12) September 28, 2018
Bangladesh fans unhappy with the stumping decision
The third umpire’s decision to send back Liton Das didn’t please the Bangladesh fans and they soon registered their dissent on twitter.
Some fans called it an act of cheating while some felt the umpires were inefficient.
— রাহাত যোবায়ের (@RahatJobayar) September 28, 2018
After that No-ball case (Rubel to Rohit catch out but given tight no-ball) in #CWC2015 B'desh ODI side was completely changed.
Now, will they get even better after that Liton Das stumping case?
Can't say how will they fair, but that was a blunder by TV Umpire!#INDvBAN #AsiaCup
— Pawan Acharya (@pawan7ach) September 28, 2018
— Moinul H Tanmoy (@tanmoy1372) September 28, 2018
please explain about the wicket of LITON DAS
— bimal kumar ray (@bimalkumarray11) September 28, 2018
— chopol ahmed (@chopol) September 28, 2018
Liton Das is Not out.
— ASHRAFUZZAMAN ZAMIL (@ASHRAF54ZAMIL) September 28, 2018
— Shayek Ahamed (@Shayek_Ahamed) September 28, 2018
— Mohiuddin Fakir (@mohiuddin121) September 28, 2018