Categories: Cricket News
September 27, 2018
| On 7 months ago

These players will miss tomorrow’s Vijay Hazare fixtures

By Akshay singh

Windies Tour of India

Windies would be touring to India for a 2 Test, 5 one-dayers and 3 T20’s series commencing from October 04th. With the Indian 50-over domestic season the Vijay Hazare series going on, some players are expected to miss their respected fixtures to serve for the Board President XI side who will take on the Windies for a two-day practice match starting from September 29 in Vadodara.

The practice match

There are no fixtures scheduled for Vijay Hazare on Saturday i.e. 29th September, therefore some players have been selected in the Board President XI squad and will play against Windies at the Gujarat State Fertilizer Corporation Ground in Vadodara.

Karnataka’s Karun Nair has been named as the skipper of Board President XI which means he is set to miss Sunday’s game alongwith his statemate Mayank Agarwal against Vidarbha which will be played at the KSCA ground in Alur.

Other notable absentees include the Mumbai duo of Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer who are replaced by Akhil Herdwadkar and Shubham Tanjane while Ajinkya Rahane the skipper of Mumbai has bid adieu to the competition to feature in the preparatory camp for the first Test against Windies starting from October 04.

Kerala’s Jalaj Saxena and Basil Thampi will miss the encounter against Delhi on 28th September while Tamil Nadu’s speedster Krishnamoorthy Vignesh will miss September 30 clash against Bengal.

UP’s Saurabh Kumar will miss Friday’s encounter against Hyderabad and Saturday’s fixture against Madhya Pradesh. Maharashtra’s Ankit Bawne who has been batting really well this season will also miss the game against Himachal Pradesh on Saturday.

Also Read: Big test ahead of Ishant and Ashwin

Board President XI squad

Here is the squad named for the practice match against Windies;

Karun Nair (c), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Jalaj Saxena, Ishan Kishan (wk), Saurabh Kumar, Basil Thampi, Avesh Khan, Krishnamoorthy Vignesh, Ishan Porel.

Akshay singh

A retrospective individual who loves to impersonate for the readers with my writings