| On 11 months ago

This triple centurion will lead Board President’s XI against Windies

By Dheeraj Singh @Cric_kette

After a comprehensive 2-0 test series win over Bangladesh, the West Indies are touring India to play two Tests, five ODIs and three T20Is. Led by Jason Holder, Windies side is scheduled to play 2-match Test series and 5-match ODI series followed by a 3-match T20I series starting from October 04. The first test match will be played at Rajkot from October 4-8, followed by the second test at Hyderabad starting from 12-16 October.

Prior to that, the Caribbean side will play a 2-day warm-up game against Board President’s XI from September 29 to get a fair idea of the conditions and wicket. A 13-member squad has been named by the All-India Senior Selection Committee that will be led by Karun Nair. The squad comprises of many test potentials like Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw and Hanuma Vihari.

Ishan Kishan has been given the responsibility to stand behind the wickets while Avesh Khan, Basil Thampi, Ishan Porel and K Vignesh will be in-charge of the pace attack. Kerala’s all-rounder, Jalaj Saxena, will form the spin attack along with Saurabh Kumar. All the players are currently representing their domestic teams in the on-going Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 and have got a call on back of their impressive performances in the past.

While Mayank Agarwal (1160 runs) was the leading run scorer in Ranji Trophy, Karun Nair showcased his fine form by collecting 612 runs in the Ranji Trophy and 227 runs in first class cricket for India A against England.

Starting on 29 September, the 2 day warm up game will be played in Vadodara. West Indies have already named a 15-man squad for the Test series with uncapped pacer Sherman Lewis replacing injured Alzarri Joseph.

Here are the squads-

Board President’s XI squad: Karun Nair (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Basil Thampi, Jalaj Saxena, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Saurabh Kumar, Avesh Khan, K Vignesh, Ishan Porel

West Indies Test squad:

Jason Holder(c), Sunil Ambris, Shimron Hetmyer, Kieran Powell, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Jahmar Hamilton, Shai Hope, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel, Sherman Lewis

Dheeraj Singh @Cric_kette

It might be a just another game for you, but for me, Cricket is something which I live for. From following cricket teams to keeping an eye on every new update in the cricketing world, I try to deliver the best and true I can in my every writing.