Categories: Cricket
| On Sep 17, 2021 12:58 PM IST

CPL Winner List – Year by Year Winners of Caribbean Premier League


CPL Winner List: Often called as the biggest party in Sport, Caribbean Premier League 2021 has been a terrific tournament to build the skills of the young cricketers of West Indies in the T20 format. They get the opportunity to warm shoulders with top cricketers of the world who are playing or who have been retired from international cricket. The first edition was organized in 2013, which was just the next year after the West Indies team won their first-ever T20 World Cup.

CPL Winners List

The Caribbean Premier League has given quality players to the West Indies squad. For example, the batters like Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran got entry into the T20 side after performing well in the tournament, while Obed McCoy and Sherfane Rutherford have gained prominence from the league as well. The all-rounder Roston Chase and fast-bowler Ravi Rampaul was chosen to play for West Indies in the T20 World Cup 2021 after they have been consistent with their contributions in the CPL 2021. While, the players who are the future of West Indies Cricket, and have been terrific in this season are Romario Shepherd and Akeal Hossein for Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders respectively.

2013– Jamaica Tallawahs were crowned as the champions, after beating Guyana Amazon Warriors comfortably by 7 wickets.

2014– After a rain spoilt game, the Barbados Tridents managed to win the game by 8 runs against Guyana Amazon Warriors.

2015– Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel won the game by 20 runs against the Barbados Tridents.

Will Fans be Allowed in IPL 2021 Phase 2? Here’s the official update

2016– Jamaica Tallawahs won their second trophy this year, after beating their same opponent of the first triumph, Guyana Amazon Warriors by 9 wickets.

2017– Trinbago Knight Riders won by 3 wickets against the St Kitts & Nevis Patriots. This was their first trophy, after the name change.

2018– Trinbago Knight Riders won by 8 wickets against the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

2019– Barbados Tridents won by 27 runs against the unlucky Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Related: CPL 2021: Akeal Hosein pulls off catch of the tournament

2020– Trinbago Knight Riders won the game comfortably by 8 wickets against the St Lucia Zouks to lift their third title.


CPL Winner


Jamaica Tallawahs


Barbados Tridents


Trinidad & Tobago


Jamaica Tallawahs


Trinbago Knight Riders


Trinbago Knight Riders


Barbados Tridents


Trinbago Knight Riders


St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots

CPL 2021 Final

The CPL 2021 Final was played at Warner Park, St. Kitts, and the home team, St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots won the Final against the Saint Lucia Kings by 3 wickets in a thriller. The team chased down the target of 160 in the final ball of the innings, Dominic Drakes being the top contributor with 48* runs.

For more cricket news, click here