Categories: Cricket News
| On Jun 2, 2021 2:29 PM IST

Breaking News: Major Changes In ICC T20 World Cup Schedule, Details


T20 World Cup: The International Cricket Council (ICC) took some noteworthy decisions regarding a number of issues addressed in their recent meeting with its members on Tuesday. The apex council announced that the T20 World Cup will take place every two years during the next eight-year Future Tours and Programme (FTP) cycle. The world cricket governing body have also made some necessary changes in the 50-overs Men’s World Cup schedule and about the future of the World Test Championship (WTC).

ICC T20 World Cup Schedule

On Tuesday, the ICC revealed some important developments regarding the expansion of the upcoming T20 World Cup and 50-overs World Cup. It was also officially announced that the Men’s Champions Trophy which was scrapped after 2017, has now been reintroduced. The apex council stated that the T20 World Cup will have 20 teams across a 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.

Related: ICC adds more teams to T20 World Cup and 50-over World Cup. DETAILS

“The ICC Board today confirmed the schedule of ICC events from 2024-2031 with both the men’s Cricket World Cup and men’s T20 World Cup to be expanded and a men’s Champions Trophy to be re-introduced,” said the ICC in a press release post its board meeting.

“The men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14 team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031, whilst the men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team, 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030,” the release added.

Related: BCCI gets a Deadline from ICC to decide the fate of T20 World Cup

ICC Champions Trophy to be re-introduced?

The ICC also made it official that the Champions Trophy will be resumed in 2025 and 2029. In another massive development, the world cricket governing body revealed that the World Test Championship finals will next be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. It has already been confirmed that the Women’s 50-overs World Cup and T20 World Cup will also witness expansion  in order to oblige with ICC ‘s long-term commitment to play a part in growing the women’s cricket.

“An eight team Champions Trophy will be hosted in 2025 and 2029. ICC World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. The ICC Women’s event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to growing the women’s game,” the ICC concluded in its press release.

IPL News: IPL 2021 Second Phase

As per reports, BCCI may impose ‘salary cuts’ on foreign stars as a punishment for slipping the IPL 2021 in UAE. If that’s true, overseas players may have a second thought on participation in the cash-rich t20 tournament. It’s no secret that a few foreign players rakes in millions as salary from IPL franchises. It could be a big hit to their pockets if BCCI goes as is being reported in the media.

For more cricket news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.