Captain of Indian Cricket Team with Most Wins [All Formats]

Updated on: Sep 5, 2022 11:08 am IST

  • Captain of Indian Cricket Team

    The Indian cricket team has been led by some of the greats of the game, from Kapil Dev to MS Dhoni, from Sunil Gavaskar to Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. The Indian team has been blessed with names that have dominated the headlines their generations.

    Indian Captain with Most Wins

    While it is an honour to lead the Indian team, some of the names have thrived over the years.

    Captain Span Matches Won Lost Tied Draw Win Percentage
    MS Dhoni 2007-2018 332 178 120 6 15 53.61
    Virat Kohli 2013-2022 213 135 60 3 11 63.38
    Mohammad Azharuddin 1990-1999 221 104 90 2 19 47.05
    Sourav Ganguly 1991-2005 195 97 78 0 15 49.74
    Rahul Dravid 2000-2007 104 50 39 0 11 48.07
    Rohit Sharma 2017-Present 55 45 10 0 0 81.82
    Kapil Dev 1982-1987 108 43 40 1 22 39.81
    Sachin Tendulkar 1996-2000 98 27 52 1 12 27.55
    Sunil Gavaskar 1976-1985 84 23 29 0 30 27.39
    Dilip Vengsarkar 1987-1989 28 10 15 0 3 35.17
    Nawab of Pataudi 1962-1975 40 9 19 0 12 22.5

    With Power comes responsibility and MS Dhoni and others have certainly taken up that responsibility up on the chins. While Kapil Dev was the first captain to lead India to a World Cup success, Sourav Ganguly’s rein as skipper is considered the foundation of today’s success.

    MS Dhoni who led India to two World Cup success has also credited Ganguly for putting a squad capable of winning anywhere in the world. Dhoni is by far the most successful captain in the history of Indian cricket in all formats. He has guided India to 178 wins in all formats.

    In those 178 wins, three will always go down as the biggest in the history of the game. Dhoni led India to the 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 ODI World Cup. He also led India to the 2013 Champions Trophy.

    Sourav Ganguly led India to 97 wins and famously guided India to the 2003 ODI World Cup final. The list also contains the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, current Head coach of the Indian side Rahul Dravid while Dilip Vengsarkar also makes the cut for being one of India’s most successful ever captains.

    Rohit Sharma as Captain of Indian Cricket Team

    When it comes to most successful captains in terms of percentage of wins, It is Rohit Sharma‘s  rein that dominates the stat. Rohit’s 81.82percent win rate is the best for any India former captain. On the flip side Virat has a win percentage of 63.38. He also led India to 40 Test victories, which again is a record for the Indian side.

    Click for more articles on Indian Cricket Team

    Previous Article
    Next Article