Cricket News
| On Jul 29, 2022 2:41 AM IST

Cricket West Indies vs India 1st T20I: West Indies squad announced. Check details


Cricket India vs West Indies – After an exciting end to the ODI series between West Indies and India, the focus now shifts towards the five-match T20I series, that will kick start from Friday (29th July). The series will be a great opportunity for both teams to rectify the things that they are lacking and build a strong core for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022.

West Indies vs India: Shimron Hetymer returns

West Indies have announced their squad for the five-match T20I series against India. The team will be led by Nicholas Pooran with Rovman Powell being his deputy.

Related: India squad for Asia Cup 2022

Shimron Hetymer has been recalled to the squad after being on the sidelines due to fitness issues. The southpaw last represented the team during the T20 World Cup 2021. It will be a big positive for the Pooran-led side as he with his brutal hitting ability can change the course of the game, which was quite evident in the IPL 2022.

Apart from him, the batting department consists of Brandon King, Kayle Mayers, Shamarah Brooks, Pooran, Powell and keeper batter Devon Thomas. However, one big name that didn’t feature was Evin Lewis. The opener likely has not featured for the fitness test, which is the reason behind his omission.

The all-rounders in the side include Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul and Dominic Drakes whereas Akeal Hosein, and Hayden Walsh Jr will be the frontline spin options for West Indies in the series against India.

The pace department will be bolstered by Alazzari Jospeh and Obed McCoy. Fabian Allen and Sheldon Cottrell also didn’t feature in the squad due to personal reasons and injuries respectively.

Indian Cricket Team Players’ wife

Here’s West Indies squad for the T20I series against India

Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Follow us on Google News

Ankit Jit Singh

Dream was to play cricket, but job is to serve cricket