Categories: Cricket News
| On Aug 27, 2021 2:05 PM IST

ENG vs IND: Did Rishabh Pant wear illegal gloves? Check out a viral video

Share

The ongoing third Test match between England and India is taking place at Headingley, Leeds. After a thumping victory at Lord’s, the Joe Root-led side came out all guns blazing and dominated the visitors with both bat and ball in the first two days of the third Test match. However, it remains to be seen if Team India would be able to stage a comeback in the remaining three days of the game.

Umpires told  Rishabh Pant to remove taping on his gloves

The second day of the third Test match at Leeds saw hosts dominating the Virat Kohli-led side. After bundling out India for 78 runs, the Joe Root-led side then displayed a sensational batting performance to put Indian bowlers under immense pressure.

Read Also: Jasprit Bumrah Ends Joe Root’s Masterclass At Leeds- WATCH

After the 135-run opening partnership between Rory Burns and Haseeb Hameed, skipper Joe Root and Dawid Malan carried the English ship forward and stitched 139 runs partnership. However, just at the stroke of Lunch, Malan was caught by Rishabh Pant for 70 runs.

Before the start of the third session, an incident took place which interesting caught the attention of everyone including commentators. Rishabh Pant and Virat Kohli were seen having a chat with on-field umpires Alex Wharf and Richard Kettleborough as they told the wicketkeeper to removing the tapping from his gloves, which was connecting his fourth and fifth finger, which is against the laws of the game.

Here’s the video:

Read Also: Mohammed Siraj gets Dawid Malan as he persuades Virat Kohli to take DRS despite Rishabh Pant’s reluctance – WATCH

ENG vs IND: What does law 27.2 of cricket designed for wicketkeepers state?

According to the 27.2 law of MCC, the wicketkeeper wears gloves, they shall have no webbing between the fingers except joining index finger and thumb, where webbing may be inserted as a means of support.

Talking about the same, commentator Nasser Hussain also explained the same and said.

“There are lots in the laws of the game about the webbing, but we’re hearing from the third umpire, Richard Illingworth, that he wasn’t allowed and he’s not allowed to tape his gloves like that, so they’ve asked him to take that tape off,” he said.

Coming to the match, England were currently 345 runs ahead for India’s first innings total with two wickets still in hand at the stumps on Day 2.

Related: CLEAN BOWLED! Ravindra Jadeja Knocks Down Haseeb Hameed with a Beauty – WATCH