ENG vs IND: Why is Yuzvendra Chahal Not Playing Today?

Updated on: Jul 10, 2022 7:15 pm IST

Yuzvendra Chahal celebration

Yuzvendra Chahal ENG vs IND: In an important news development, India’s premier leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is not playing the 3rd and final T20I encounter against England scheduled to begin at the Trent Bridge in Nottingham. The visiting Indian team have performed amazingly well in the white-ball leg of this England tour so far. India won the second T20I against England by a margin of 49 runs and thus, sealed the three-match T20I series in their favour having taken an unassailable lead of 2-0.

ENG vs IND: Why is Yuzvendra Chahal Not Playing Today?

India’s skipper Rohit Sharma noted during the toss that they have decided to test their bench strength for this third and final T20I game against England in Nottingham. Therefore, premier right-arm leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has not been included in the India playing 11. Incidentally Chahal bowled really well in the last game against England having returned with impressive figures of 2 for 10 in his three overs spell. He also scalped two crucial wickets in the opening T20I encounter as well.

“We would have fielded first. Had batted first twice, wanted to chase at least once. Four changes for us – Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Umran Malik and Shreyas Iyer are in. They replace Bhuvi, Bumrah, Chahal and Hardik. We don’t want to miss out on the winning confidence, but there are a few things we want to have a look at before the World Cup, so the changes. We’re excited for Umran, want to wish him the best and give him confidence,” said India captain Rohit Sharma during the toss.

Related: IPL Team Owners

England vs India: Confirmed India Playing 11

India have included the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan and Ravi Bishnoi in their playing 11 for this third and final T20I against England. Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya have been rested for this match.

India Playing 11
1. Rohit Sharma (C)
2. Rishabh Pant (wk)
3. Virat Kohli
4. Shreyas Iyer
5. Suryakumar Yadav
6. Dinesh Karthik
7. Ravindra Jadeja
8. Umran Malik
9. Harshal Patel
10. Ravi Bishnoi
11. Avesh Khan

Related: Indian Cricket Team Jersey Numbers

England vs India 2022 Schedule

Date Format Match Time Venue Result
1 – 5 July, 2022 5th Test England vs India 3 PM IST Edgbaston, Birmingham England won by 7 wickets
7 July, 2022 1st T20I England vs India 10:30 PM IST The Rose Bowl, Southampton India won by 50 runs
9 July, 2022 2nd T20I England vs India 7 PM IST Edgbaston, Birmingham India won by 49 runs
10 July, 2022 3rd T20I England vs India 7 PM IST Trent Bridge, Nottingham TBA
12 July, 2022 1st ODI England vs India 5:30 PM IST Kennington Oval, London TBA
14 July, 2022 2nd ODI England vs India 5:30 PM IST Lord’s, London TBA
17 July, 2022 3rd ODI England vs India 3:30 PM IST Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester TBA


Related: Indian Women Cricket Team

For more ENG vs IND 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article