Cricket News
| On Jul 27, 2022 12:12 PM IST

ENG vs SA: Jonny Bairstow injured and ruled out of 1st T20I? Check details


ENG vs SA: After the enthralling ODI series between England and South Africa, which ended in a draw, the focus now shifts towards the three-match T20I series between the teams. The T20I series between the nations will serve as preparation ahead of the T20I World Cup 2022 and both the teams would be looking to find their right balance and also test the bench strength. 

ENG vs SA: Jonny Bairstow likely to miss the first T20I against South Africa

The first match of the T20I series between England and South Africa is slated to take place on Wednesday (27th July). With the ODI series ending at a draw, both the teams would be looking to make their claim and would be hoping to give their everything to win the series.

Related: India squad for Asia Cup 2022

However, with the first match around the corner, England suffered a massive blow as batter Jonny Bairstow sustained a knee injury during training at Bristol and was seen leaving the ground with ice packs and strapping around his left knee.

Although no official confirmation has been made about Bairstow’s injury it is very much likely that he will miss the first T20I against South Africa. With the second game slated to be played tomorrow, England would not want to rush the batter into the field, especially with T20 World Cup around the corner. 

Bairstow’s absence will come as a big blow for England, considering the kind of form he was in. It’s fair to say that the hosts would’ve been favourites to win the game but with the keeper batter not being there, South Africa is likely to emerge victorious.

Indian Cricket Team Players’ wife

ENG vs SA: Probable Playing XI for England for the first T20I

If Bairstow misses the first game, Philip Salt would get the nod ahead whereas the rest of the team is likely to same as that fielded against India in the recently concluded T20I series. 

Here’s England’s playing XI: 

Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (c), Dawid Malan, Phil Salt, Liam Livingstone, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley 

Follow us on Google News

IPL Team Owners


Ankit Jit Singh

Dream was to play cricket, but job is to serve cricket