Cricket News
| On Apr 18, 2022 11:28 PM IST

Hat Trick in IPL: Yuzvendra Chahal IPL 2022 Hattrick stuns KKR


Yuzvendra Chahal IPL 2022 Hattrick: For the Rajasthan Royals (RR), right-arm leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has bowled remarkably well in this 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022). He has looked in a brilliant touch so far this T20 season and been an important wicket-taking asset for the Sanju Samson-led RR team.

Hat Trick in IPL: Yuzvendra Chahal IPL 2022 Hattrick stuns KKR

In a massive moment of the game, Yuzvendra Chahal picked up an outstanding hat-trick to stun the opposition Kolkata Knight Riders team as he dismissed the trio of Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi and Pat Cummins off three consecutive deliveries during a single over. Chahal also registered the first five-wicket haul of the Indian Premier League 2022 season and ended with sensational match-winning figures of 5 for 40 to take the Rajasthan Royals towards an incredible victory. He took as many as four vital wickets in a single over to turn the match on its head.

Yuzvendra Chahal has now become the 21st player in the history of the Indian Premier League to take a hat trick.

Related: IPL Team owners

Hat Trick in IPL

Player Dismissals Final Bowling Figures Opposition Year
Lakshmipathy Balaji Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, VRV Singh 5/24 Kings XI Punjab 2008
Amit Mishra Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh 5/17 Deccan Chargers 2008
Makhaya Ntini Sourav Ganguly, DB Das, David Hussey 4/21 Kolkata Knight Riders 2008
Yuvraj Singh Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher 3/22 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2009
Rohit Sharma Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, JP Duminy 4/6 Mumbai Indians 2009
Yuvraj Singh Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Venugopal Rao 3/13 Deccan Chargers 2009
Praveen Kumar Damien Martyn, S Narwal, P Dogra 3/18 Rajasthan Royals 2010
Amit Mishra R McLaren, Mandeep Singh, Ryan Harris 4/9 Kings XI Punjab 2011
Ajit Chandila Jessie Ryder, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa 4/13 Pune Warriors 2012
Sunil Narine David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat Singh 3/33 Kings XI Punjab 2013
Amit Mishra Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda 4/19 Pune Warriors 2013
Pravin Tambe Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate 3/26 Kolkata Knight Riders 2014
Shane Watson Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Karn Sharma 3/13 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2014
Axar Patel Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja 4/21 Gujarat Lions 2016
Samuel Badree Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rohit Sharma 4/9 Mumbai Indians 2017
Andrew Tye Ankit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Shardul Thakur 5/17 Rising Pune Supergiants 2017
Jaydev Unadkat Bipul Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/30 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2017
Sam Curran Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane 4/11 Delhi Capitals 2019
Shreyas Gopal Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis 3/12 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019
Harshal Patel Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar 4/17 Mumbai Indians 2021
Yuzvendra Chahal Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi, Pat Cummins 5/40 Kolkata Knight Riders 2022


Related: Most sixes in IPL

RR vs KKR Live Score

The Rajasthan Royals posted a massive first innings score of 217 for 5 in their full quota of 20 overs courtesy a stupendous century knock from Jos Buttler. RR captain Sanju Samson also scored 38 runs while Shimron Hetmyer played an exciting cameo of 26 not out off only 13 deliveries.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

In reply, Kolkata Knight Riders captain Shreyas Iyer contributed with a brilliant innings of 85 runs off 51 balls but eventually failed to take his team over the finishing line. KKR got bowled out for 210 runs in 19.4 overs and ended up losing their third game in a row.

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.