ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Stats : Most Runs and Most Wickets in each edition (2007-2021)

Updated on: Oct 13, 2022 3:07 pm IST

  • most runs and most wickets in T20 World Cup

    ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is all set to return with its 8th season. The tournament will commence on 15th October 2022 in Australia. The inaugural season of the T20 World Cup was held in the year 2007. The tournament was new and teams were adapting to this format. Fans were thrilled to see a change in the international scene. The first edition of the tournament had it all, from one-side games to last ball enthralling encounters. The 2007 World Cup was a hit, and India won the first edition. Hence, ICC decided to hold the tournament every two years. Up until the year 2022, 7 editions of the T20 World Cup took place. Every time, a new hero emerged either with the bat or with the ball.

    Most Runs in T20 World Cup

    T20 format is considered to be a game of the batters. The shorter format provides freedom for the batters to attack from ball one. Hence, a mammoth amount of runs have been scored in this format. In the T20 World Cup history, India stalwart, Virat Kohli, holds the record of scoring the highest amount of runs in a single edition. In the 5th edition of the tournament, Kohli scored a total of 319 runs with 4 crucial half-centuries. He anchored the team to the finals, but India eventually lost to Sri Lanka.
    Over the years, many batters have stood out in each season of the T20 World Cup.

    Let’s have a look at the complete list of the most runs scored in each edition of the T20 World Cup.

    Edition Player Team Runs scored High Score 50/100
    2007 Matthew Hayden Australia 265 73 4/0
    2009 Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka 317 96 3/0
    2010 Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka 302 100 2/1
    2012 Shane Watson Australia 249 72 3/0
    2014 Virat Kohli India 319 77 4/0
    2016 Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh 295 103 1/1
    2021 Babar Azam Pakistan 303 70 4/0

    Most Wickets in T20 World Cup

    Bowlers have a hard time in this short format as the margin of error is too less for them. The boundary length is short most of the time. However, there have been some exceptional performances from some exceptional bowlers across these 7 editions. The Sri Lankan spinner, Ajantha Mendis, is the highest wicket-taker in the tally with 15 wickets under his name in the 4th edition. He registered his best career figures by clipping 6 wickets and giving away just 8 runs. Let’s look at the entire tally of the most wickets taken in each edition of the T20 World Cup..

    Edition Player Team Wickets Economy Best Figures
    2007 Umar Gul Pakistan 13 5.60 4/25
    2009 Umar Gul Pakistan 13 6.44 5/6
    2010 Dirk Nannes Australia 14 7.03 4/18
    2012 Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka 15 6.12 6/8
    2014 Imran Tahir

    Ahsan Malik

    South Africa








    2016 Mohammad Nabi Afghanistan 12 6.07 4/20
    2021 Wanindu Hasaranga Sri Lanka 16 5.20 3/9

    Click for T20 World Cup 2022 News

    Previous Article
    Next Article