| On 1 year ago

ICC suspends South African Bowler Raisibe Ntozakhe ahead of the Women’s World T20

ICC suspended Raisibe Ntozakhe

In a recent shocker for Cricket South Africa announced by ICC, the major pick Raisibe Ntozakhe has been suspended due to her illegal bowling action ahead of the Women's World T20.

Image Credit:; ICC

She was named in the 15-member squad, but now CSA will name another player to replace Raisibe from the team before the start of the tournament.

If CSA provide a name for replacement player prior to the start of the event support period on 2 November 2018, they will not require approval from the Event Technical Committee.

ICC's independent assessment found her action to be illegal and she has been suspended from the international cricket with immediate effect. She will not be allowed to play any domestic match as well but with the consent of CSA, she can continue playing cricket within it's (CSA) jurisdiction.

She was caught bowling illegally against Windies in the recently concluded ODI on September 16.

South Africa announced the 15-member squad

South Africa announced the 15-member team for the upcoming ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the West Indies which will kick off from November 9.

Shabnim Ismail and Trisha Chetty made a comeback into the squad after missing out in the earlier tour to Windies.

The South African side will enter the tournament with the same outfit barring Shabnim and Trisha. They haven’t made massive changes in the eleven that played against Windies in the recently concluded T-20 and One Day International series.

Why Shabnim and Trisha missed the Windies Tour

Pacer Shabnim Ismail was unavailable due to personal reasons while wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty had a back injury.
New entries Tumi Sekhukhune, Robyn Searle and Saarah Smith, are also retained by the team management for the marquee event.

Speedster, Ayabonga Khaka is not entirely recovered from her shoulder injury and so was not considered during the team selection.

CSA Chief executive Thabang Moroe told the reports on Tuesday, “The team reached the semi-final of the 2014th edition in Bangladesh and we were close to entering the ICC Women’s World Cup in England for the first time. I wish all the luck to our team for the upcoming event.”

Group A team, South Africa will lock horns with Windies, England, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh where they will start their journey from Caribbean province St. Lucia.

Squad for the Women's World T20:

Dané van Niekerk (c), Chloe Tryon, Lizelle Lee, Suné Luus, Shabnim Ismail, Masabata Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Tumi Sekhukhune, Zintle Mali, Robyn Searle, Trisha Chetty, Saarah Smith.

Rajsi Swaroop

I am Sports Fan precisely Cricket, Football, Tennis. I want to give my life to the sports media so that India will become a Sporting nation soon.