IND vs AUS: Why is Bhuvneshwar Kumar Not Playing Today’s India vs Australia 2nd T20I?

Updated on: Sep 23, 2022 9:36 pm IST

  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar IND vs AUS: In an important news development, India’s senior bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar is not playing the second T20I match against Australia at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur. Even after setting a mammoth target of 209 runs, India managed to suffer a poor 4-wicket loss in the opening T20I match against Australia on Tuesday. The Men in Blue will now want to make a comeback in order to level the three-match IND vs AUS T20I series.

    IND vs AUS: Why is Bhuvneshwar Kumar Not Playing Today’s India vs Australia 2nd T20I?

    After winning a crucial toss and opting to bowl first, Indian captain Rohit Sharma revealed the big news that pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has unfortunately been left out from the playing 11 for this 8-over-per-side contest against Australia in Nagpur. Rohit mentioned that they have brought in Rishabh Pant as an extra batter as according to the playing conditions, a bowler can bowl a maximum of two overs. Therefore, the Men in Blue are going in with five specialist bowlers in Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel, Hardik Pandya and two spinners, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel.

    “We’re going to field first. It’s nice, there are so many people who have come to watch us. It is nice to get a game. These games are challenging ones because you don’t know what to do. You just have to go out and express yourself. Hopefully we can put up a good show. Since it is an eight over game, we had to make two changes: Bumrah comes in for Umesh Yadav. Bhuvi misses out too and Pant comes in,” said Indian captain Rohit Sharma during the toss.

    India Playing 11

    1. Rohit Sharma (C)
    2. KL Rahul
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Suryakumar Yadav
    5. Rishabh Pant (wk)

    6. Hardik Pandya
    7. Dinesh Karthik
    8. Axar Patel
    9. Harshal Patel
    10. Yuzvendra Chahal
    11. Jasprit Bumrah

    Related: Who Will win T20 World Cup 2022?

    India vs Australia 2022 Schedule

    Date Format Match Time Venue Result
    20 September, 2022 (Tuesday) 1st T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium,  Mohali Australia won by 4 wickets
    23 September, 2022 (Friday) 2nd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur TBA
    25 September, 2022 (Sunday) 3rd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad TBA

    Related: Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022]

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article