IND vs AUS: Why is Rishabh Pant Not Playing Today’s India vs Australia 1st T20I? Who is India Wicket Keeper?

Updated on: Sep 20, 2022 7:05 pm IST

  • Rishabh Pant India vs Australia Dream11 IND vs AUS

    Rishabh Pant IND vs AUS: In a crucial news update, India’s swashbuckling wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant misses out of the playing XI for the opening T20I encounter against Australia at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. These six T20I games against Australia and South Africa is very much important for the Men in Blue leading into the all-important ICC T20 World Cup 2022 scheduled to begin next month.

    IND vs AUS: Why is Rishabh Pant Not Playing Today’s India vs Australia 1st T20I? Who is India Wicket Keeper?

    India captain Rohit Sharma stated during the toss that Rishabh Pant is not playing this first T20I game against Australia. During the Asia Cup 2022, Pant failed to contribute much with the bat in the crucial must-win games against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This is why the Indian team management has once again been tempted to bring back specialist finisher Dinesh Karthik in the playing 11 and he will be playing as the wicket-keeper batsman. Since his amazing run during IPL 2022, Karthik has also played some really crucial match-winning knocks for India in T20I cricket.

    “It is an opportunity to test ourselves. Every game is a big game to learn. We got to learn so much in the last six-eight months on how to win games. This series will be no different for us to express ourselves. Looking at what happened in the Asia Cup, we had a chance to reflect on where we went wrong. This gives us an opportunity to correct ourselves as a group. Nothing changes in terms of our approach. Unfortunately there are some injuries in the squad. Bumrah is not playing, he will take a game’s break and probably come back in the second and the third game. We have Axar and Chahal. Pant misses out,” said Indian captain Rohit Sharma during the toss.

    India Playing 11

    1. Rohit Sharma (C)
    2. KL Rahul
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Suryakumar Yadav
    5. Hardik Pandya
    6. Dinesh Karthik (wk)
    7. Axar Patel
    8. Harshal Patel
    9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
    10. Yuzvendra Chahal
    11. Umesh Yadav

    Related: Who Will win T20 World Cup 2022?

    Related: T20 World Cup 2022 Squads of All Teams

    India vs Australia 2022 Schedule

    Date Format Match Time Venue
    20 September 2022 1st T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium,  Mohali
    23 September 2022 2nd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
    25 September 2022 3rd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

    Related: Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022]

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article