IND vs AUS: Why is Jasprit Bumrah Not Playing Today’s India vs Australia 1st T20I?

Updated on: Sep 20, 2022 7:01 pm IST

  • Jasprit Bumrah IND vs AUS Dream11 India vs Australia

    Jasprit Bumrah IND vs AUS: In a massive breaking news development, India’s premier pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah is not playing the first T20I match against Australia at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. India will be playing a total of three T20I matches at home against Australia after not doing well in the Super 4 stage of the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022 where they lost to Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

    IND vs AUS: Why is Jasprit Bumrah Not Playing Today’s India vs Australia 1st T20I?

    After losing the toss and being put in to bat first, India captain Rohit Sharma revealed the big news that Jasprit Bumrah unfortunately misses out on the playing 11 for this first game against the Aussies. Incidentally, the right-arm speedster is returning from a long injury lay-off after having played his last T20I encounter against England in July earlier this year. Rohit also clearly mentioned that Bumrah will surely be part of the Indian side for the next two matches against Australia on 23 and 25 September respectively. In his absence, senior pacer Umesh Yadav has been given an opportunity after getting included in the team as Mohammed Shami’s replacement who missed out due to Covid-19.

    “It is an opportunity to test ourselves. Every game is a big game to learn. We got to learn so much in the last six-eight months on how to win games. This series will be no different for us to express ourselves. Looking at what happened in the Asia Cup, we had a chance to reflect on where we went wrong. This gives us an opportunity to correct ourselves as a group. Nothing changes in terms of our approach. Unfortunately there are some injuries in the squad. Bumrah is not playing, he will take a game’s break and probably come back in the second and the third game. We have Axar and Chahal. Pant misses out,” said Indian captain Rohit Sharma during the toss.

    India Playing 11

    1. Rohit Sharma (C)
    2. KL Rahul
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Suryakumar Yadav
    5. Hardik Pandya
    6. Dinesh Karthik (wk)
    7. Axar Patel
    8. Harshal Patel
    9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
    10. Yuzvendra Chahal
    11. Umesh Yadav

    Related: Who Will win T20 World Cup 2022?

    Related: T20 World Cup 2022 Squads of All Teams

    India vs Australia 2022 Schedule

    Date Format Match Time Venue
    20 September 2022 1st T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium,  Mohali
    23 September 2022 2nd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
    25 September 2022 3rd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

    Related: Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022]

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article