Categories: Cricket NewsIND vs NZ
| On Nov 21, 2021 6:37 PM IST

IND vs NZ Live: Why is KL Rahul Not Playing Today?


KL Rahul Not playing IND vs NZ: In a massive update, India’s in-form opening batter KL Rahul is not playing today in the third and final T20I match against New Zealand. The host Indian team has already sealed the three-match T20I series in their favour by taking an unassailable lead of 2-0 having registered two remarkable wins in the first two games against New Zealand. India captain Rohit Sharma has won the toss in this third T20I match in Kolkata and has elected to bat first.

Why is KL Rahul Not Playing Today?

After having won the home series against New Zealand, Team India have decided to rest their in-form pair of KL Rahul and Ravichandran Ashwin for the third and final T20I against New Zealand. The duo of Ishan Kishan and Yuzvendra Chahal have been included in the playing 11 and they will be getting some important game time.

Both Rahul and Ashwin were in a really good form before having been rested for this game. KL Rahul smashed remarkable 50-plus scores in four out of his last five matches in T20I cricket. On the other hand, Ashwin was also picking wickets on regular basis in the shortest format recently. However, it will also be a great opportunity for both Ishan and Chahal to contribute with impactful performances.

IND Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Ishan Kishan
Rohit Sharma
Suryakumar Yadav
Rishabh Pant
Shreyas Iyer
Venkatesh Iyer
Axar Patel
Harshal Patel
Deepak Chahar
Yuzvendra Chahal
Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Related: Why is Tim Southee Not Playing Today?

IND vs NZ 3rd T20I Live

The visiting New Zealand team have also made one change in their playing XI from the last match as their captain and senior pace bowler Tim Southee is not playing today. Mitchell Santner will be captaining the Kiwi team while right-arm speedster Lockie Ferguson makes his return into the playing 11 after missing the second T20I.

Related: Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismisses Daryl Mitchell with a Peach – WATCH

NZ Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Daryl Mitchell
Martin Guptill
Mark Chapman
Tim Seifert
Glenn Phillips
James Neesham
Mitchell Santner
Lockie Ferguson
Ish Sodhi
Adam Milne
Trent Boult

For more IND vs NZ news, click here