IND vs NZ: New Zealand Squad announced for India vs New Zealand T20I series. Check Player List

Updated on: Jan 13, 2023 2:51 pm IST

  • ind vs nz

    IND VS NZ: India and New Zealand last met in November 2022, a forgettable tour where as many as four out of six matches were rain-affected. The visitors had won the T20 series 1-0 while the Kiwis won the ODI leg with the same margin. The action returns next week as the two sides are set to cross swords once again in three ODIs followed by as many T20Is. New Zealand have annouced their squad ahead of the tour which will be led by Mitchell Santner.

    Santner, no stranger to captaincy, has guided his team to victory in eight of ten T20Is. Speaking highly of him, chief selector Gavin Larsen said,

    “Mitch is a leader in our white-ball teams and has captained the T20 side in India before. His experience in Indian conditions will be invaluable leading this group.”

    Auckland speedster Ben Lister has been named in the squad, unsurprising as he was Auckland Cricket’s Men’s Bowler of the Year. The left arm quick is known for his ability to swing the ball. Leg-spinner Michael Rippon makes a return to the side which also features all-rounder Henry Shipley, who earned his maiden international cap in the ongoing series against Pakistan.

    IND vs NZ: New Zealand Squad

    Mitchell Santner (C), Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver,  Jacob Duffy, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Lockie Ferguson

    Kyle Jamieson, Ben Sears, Adam Milne and Matt Henry are unavailable through injuries. Regular skipper Kane Williamson and veteran Tim Southee have been rested. Luke Ronchi will be the head coach for the series.

    IND VS NZ Schedule

    India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad Jan 18, 1400 hrs IST
    India vs New Zealand, 2nd ODI Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur Jan 21, 1400 Hrs IST
    India vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore Jan 24, 1400 Hrs IST
    India vs New Zealand, 1st T20I JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi


    Jan 27, 1900 Hrs IST
    India vs New Zealand, 2nd T20I Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow Jan 29, 1900 Hrs IST
    India vs New Zealand, 3rd T20I Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad Feb 01, 1900 Hrs IST

    Previous Article
    Next Article