Cricket News
| On Jun 19, 2022 1:06 PM IST

IND vs SA: Is Temba Bavuma Playing Today? Who will be South Africa Captain?


Temba Bavuma IND vs SA 5th T20I: The visiting South African team will surely be really disappointed with their performance in the last two T20I matches against India. After putting up dominating show in the first two games, the Proteas ended up witnessing comprehensive defeats at the hands of India in the third and fourth T20I matches. The IND vs SA five-match T20I series is currently levelled with a 2-2 scoreline and things are set up amazingly well for the series decider on 19 June, 2022 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

IND vs SA: Is Temba Bavuma Playing Today? Who will be South Africa Captain?

South Africa have a few injury concerns to sort out before the start of the all-important fifth T20I encounter against India on Sunday and the most worrisome casualty is their skipper Temba Bavuma who got retired out during the last match in Rajkot. Bavuma injured his elbow while diving for a single and then also conceded some lusty blows on his left arm. The South African captain failed to return to bat during the chase in the fourth T20I against India and was even seen sporting a sling on his left arm.

Due to the same elbow injury issue, Temba Bavuma is very much unlikely to be available for selection in the fifth and final T20I match against India on Sunday. In his absence, left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj will take over as the South Africa stand-in captaincy duties.

Temba Bavuma Stats in T20I

Matches Runs Strike-Rate 50s Recent Form
25 562 120.6 1 8*, 8, 35, 10, 67 & 30


Related: IPL Team Owners

India vs South Africa: Probable South Africa Playing 11

Reeza Hendricks will be making his return to the South Africa playing 11 in place of the injured Temba Bavuma on Sunday. The duo of Kagiso Rabada and Wayne Parnell are also expected to be included in the Proteas team if they have recovered from their respective niggles.

SA Playing 11
Quinton de Kock (wk)
Reeza Hendricks
Rassie van der Dussen
David Miller
Heinrich Klaasen 

Dwaine Pretorius
Wayne Parnell

Keshav Maharaj (C)
Lungi Ngidi/Kagiso Rabada
Tabraiz Shamsi
Anrich Nortje

Related: Indian Cricket Team Jersey Numbers

IND vs SA 2022 Schedule

Date Format Match Time Venue Result
9 June, 2022 1st T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi South Africa won by 7 wickets
12 June, 2022 2nd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Barabati Stadium, Cuttack South Africa won by 4 wickets
14 June, 2022 3rd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam India won by 48 runs
17 June, 2022 4th T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot India won by 82 runs
19 June, 2022 5th T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru TBA


Related: Indian Women Cricket Team 

For more IND vs SA news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.