Cricket News
| On Jun 9, 2022 6:13 PM IST

IND vs SA: Why is KL Rahul Not Playing Today? Who is India Captain?


KL Rahul Not Playing IND vs SA: In a big breaking news development, Indian captain KL Rahul is not playing the today’s first T20I match against South Africa scheduled to be played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Incidentally, Rahul has been ruled out for the entire five-match T20I series against the Proteas owing to a right groin injury. India’s left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav will also not be available for the limited-overs series after getting hit on his right hand while batting in the nets.

IND vs SA: Why is KL Rahul Not Playing Today? Who is India Captain?

In the absence of KL Rahul, explosive wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant has been named as India’s stand-in captain for the five-match home T20I series against South Africa. This is a big moment for Pant as he will be captaining the Indian team for the first time in his international career and he is also the second youngest Indian T20 captain. South African captain Temba Bavuma has won the toss and opted to bowl first.

“He felt pain and he was checked on Wednesday morning. The team management decided that as a measure of precaution, as well keeping the England series in mind, he will be withdrawn from the South Africa series,” said a source in the knowledge of the development.

“Both the cricketers will now report to the NCA where the medical team will assess them further and decide on the future course of treatment,” the BCCI further said in the release.

Related: Indian Cricket Team Jersey Numbers

Related: IPL Team Owners

India vs South Africa: Confirmed India Playing 11

The Men in Blue will be fielding a rather less experienced playing 11 in this first T20I match against South Africa. After a fabulous IPL 2022 season, senior wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik makes his return to the national side alongside all-rounder Hardik Pandya who is also the vice-captain. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel and Avesh Khan are the three frontline pace bowlers for the hosts.

India Playing 11
1. Ruturaj Gaikwad
2. Ishan Kishan
3. Shreyas Iyer
4. Rishabh Pant (C & wk)
5. Hardik Pandya 
6. Dinesh Karthik
7. Axar Patel
8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
9. Harshal Patel
10. Avesh Khan
11. Yuzvendra Chahal 

IND vs SA 2022 Schedule

Date Format Fixture Time Venue
9 June, 2022 (Thursday) 1st T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
12 June, 2022 (Sunday) 2nd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Barabati Stadium, Cuttack
14 June, 2022 (Tuesday) 3rd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
17 June, 2022 (Friday) 4th T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
19 June, 2022 (Sunday) 5th T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru


Related: Indian Women Cricket Team 

For more IND vs SA news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.