Cricket News
| On Jun 19, 2022 6:21 PM IST

IND vs SA: Why is Temba Bavuma Not Playing Today? Who is SA Captain?


Temba Bavuma IND vs SA: In a massive news update, South Africa captain Temba Bavuma is not playing the today’s fifth and final T20I match against India at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The Men in Blue have made a stunning comeback during the previous two matches having registered amazing back-to-back victories. The India vs South Africa five-match T20I series is currently levelled at 2-2 scoreline and things are wonderfully set up for the series decider.

IND vs SA: Why is Temba Bavuma Not Playing Today? Who is SA Captain?

In a huge blow, South Africa captain Temba Bavuma injured his left elbow while diving for a single and getting hit on the arm a few times during the fourth T20I game against India on Friday. He was forced to get retired out after scoring 8 runs and could not return as South Africa ended up losing the match by a convincing margin of 82 runs. Bavuma was seen wearing a sling on his left arm while sitting in the dressing room and the same injury issue has kept him out for the crucial series decider against India in Bengaluru.

In the absence of Temba Bavuma, Keshav Maharaj will be the captain for South Africa in this fifth and final T20I encounter against India. South Africa skipper Keshav Maharaj won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Related: IPL Team Owners

Temba Bavuma Stats in T20I

Matches Runs Strike-Rate 50s Recent Form
25 562 120.6 1 8*, 8, 35, 10, 67 & 30


India vs South Africa: Confirmed South Africa Playing 11

The visiting South African team have made as many as three changes to their playing 11  against India in the fifth T20I match. Reeza Hendricks, Tristan Stubbs and Kagiso Rabada have returned to the side in place of Tabraiz Shamsi, Marco Jansen and Temba Bavuma.

SA Playing 11
Quinton de Kock (wk)
Reeza Hendricks
Rassie van der Dussen
David Miller
Heinrich Klaasen 

Dwaine Pretorius
Tristan Stubbs

Keshav Maharaj (C)
Lungi Ngidi
Kagiso Rabada

Anrich Nortje

Related: Indian Cricket Team Jersey Numbers

IND vs SA 2022 Schedule

Date Format Match Time Venue Result
9 June, 2022 1st T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi South Africa won by 7 wickets
12 June, 2022 2nd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Barabati Stadium, Cuttack South Africa won by 4 wickets
14 June, 2022 3rd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam India won by 48 runs
17 June, 2022 4th T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot India won by 82 runs
19 June, 2022 5th T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru TBA


Related: Indian Women Cricket Team 

For more IND vs SA news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.