IND vs SA: Why is Yuzvendra Chahal Not Playing Today’s India vs South Africa 1st T20I? 

Updated on: Sep 28, 2022 7:02 pm IST

  • Yuzvendra Chahal India vs South Africa Dream11

    Yuzvendra Chahal IND vs SA: In an important news development, premier leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is not playing the India vs South Africa opening T20I game scheduled to begin at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. India recently registered an unbelievable 2-1 series win against the defending T20 World Cup champions Australia in a very competitive three-match series at home.

    IND vs SA: Why is Yuzvendra Chahal Not Playing Today’s India vs South Africa 1st T20I? 

    During the toss, Indian captain Rohit Sharma stated that leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal unfortunately misses out from the playing 11 for this IND vs SA 1st T20I encounter. Rohit also clearly mentioned that it is purely a tactical decision to bring in senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin in place of Chahal as the South Africa side has three left-handed batsmen in their line-up. Yuzvendra Chahal has witnessed quite mixed performances in the recent while but did well with the ball during the last match against Australia. On the other hand, Ashwin did not get a game during the recently concluded three-match T20I series against Australia.

    “We are gonna bowl first. It was a good wicket when we played here last time. Bit of green covering but it’s gonna be a good batting track. Very critical to continue to do what you’re doing and keep that momentum in this format. Very healthy atmosphere in the group and we also want to make sure to tick all the boxes and so far we have been doing good and we just want to continue to do that. Hardik and Bhuvi are rested from the last series. Pant and Arshdeep come in for them. Bumrah and Chahal miss out,” said Indian captain Rohit Sharma during the toss.

    Related: Who Will win T20 World Cup 2022?

    India Playing 11

    1. Rohit Sharma (C)
    2. KL Rahul
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Suryakumar Yadav
    5. Rishabh Pant (wk)
    6. Dinesh Karthik
    7. Axar Patel
    8. Deepak Chahar
    9. Ravichandran Ashwin
    10. Harshal Patel
    11. Arshdeep Singh

    Related: T20 World Cup 2022 Squads of All Teams

    India vs South Africa 2022 Schedule

    Date Format Match Time Venue
    28 September 2022 1st T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram
    1 October 2022 2nd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati
    3 October 2022 3rd T20I India vs South Africa 7 PM IST Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
    6 October 2022 1st ODI India vs South Africa 2 PM IST JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi
    9 October 2022 2nd ODI India vs South Africa 2 PM IST Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
    11 October 2022 3rd ODI India vs South Africa 2 PM IST Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

    Related: Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022]

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article