Cricket News
| On Feb 20, 2022 7:12 PM IST

IND vs SL: India Squad Announced for Sri Lanka T20I, Test Series. Who is India Test CAPTAIN?


India squad for IND vs SL T20Is, Tests: In a massive breaking news, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced the India T20I squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka at home. India will be hosting Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series scheduled to begin with the 1st T20I encounter on 24 February, 2022 in Lucknow. Both India and Sri Lanka will also then meet in a two-match Test series where the second match will be a day-night fixture to be played with the pink ball in Bengaluru.

IND vs SL: India Squad Announced for Sri Lanka T20I, Test Series. Who is India Test CAPTAIN?

BCCI chief selector Chetan Sharma revealed that the trio of Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Shardul Thakur have been rested for the Sri Lanka T20I series. On the other hand, the duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja return to the national side. In a big surprise, Sanju Samson has been included in the India squad as the second wicket-keeper batsman alongside Ishan Kishan.

In another big announcement, Rohit Sharma has been named India’s new Test captain and his first assignment will be the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka at home. Chetan Sharma stated that Rohit is currently the biggest cricketer in India at this moment. 28-year-old left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar has been handed his maiden call-up in the India Test team while senior players like Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha have not been considered for selection.

Related: Rishabh Pant Rested for India vs West Indies 3rd T20I?

India T20I Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah (vc), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

India Test Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin (subject to fitness), Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

Related: Virat Kohli to miss IND vs WI 3rd T20I?

Related: Rishabh Pant HELICOPTER SHOT in 2nd T20I – WATCH


India vs Sri Lanka 2022 Schedule

Date Venue Fixture
24 February, Thursday Lucknow 1st T20I, India vs Sri Lanka
26 February, Saturday Dharamsala 2nd T20I, India vs Sri Lanka
27 February, Sunday Dharamsala 3rd T20I, India vs Sri Lanka
4 March, Friday Mohali 1st Test, India vs Sri Lanka
12 March, Saturday Bengaluru 2nd Test, India vs Sri Lanka (D/N)


For more IND vs SL 2022 news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.