India Test Jersey Numbers of the Current Squad

Updated on: Aug 1, 2021 5:21 pm IST

  • India Test Jersey numbers

    The Indian cricket team has always been a powerhouse in the world of sport. India’s test team was recently involved in the inaugural WTC championship final, losing to a spirited New Zealand side. They are just behind the Kiwis on the second spot in the ICC Men’s Test Team rankings. Here is a breakdown of the India Test jersey numbers of this current squad.

    India Test Jersey Numbers: Story Behind the Numbers

    India is a cricket-mad country and supports its team with full vigor. Some players have worn jerseys that are so famous; they cannot be replaced with anyone else. The Indian Cricket Team Jersey is an extension of the player’s personality and style as it is a symbol for all their fans worldwide. Sports jerseys are a symbol of passion, pride, and there is a story behind every number.

    Virat Kohli #18 

    His father Prem Kohli sent him for cricket coaching, and it was his dream to watch his son represent the nation one day. His father, unfortunately, passed away on December 18, 2006; But that doesn’t stop Indian captain Virat Kohli from wearing number 18 in remembrance of a man he loved more than anything else in life.

    Also Read, Fastest hundred by an Indian in ODIs

    Rohit Sharma #45

    Rohit’s lucky number has always been 9. But when he was picked for the U-19 World Cup in 2006, he chose not to have a single-digit number on his jersey. So he consulted with his mother, and she suggested 45 as it is also made up of 4 plus 5, equaling nine.

    Ravichandran Ashwin #99

    Ravichandran Ashwin, the leader of India’s spin attack, initially wanted number nine on his back. But Parthiv Patel, part of the Indian setup, had already taken that spot, and Ashwin decided to add one more 9 hence choosing 99.

    Ravindra Jadeja #8

    When Ravindra Jadeja arrived on the international stage, he wanted the number 12. But since Yuvraj was already wearing it, Jadeja chose 8 instead. He reasoned that because he was born on 06-12-1988, those numbers add up to 8. (6+12+1+9+8+8 =44, 4+4=8)

    Complete List of Test Jersey Numbers:

    Player Name

    Jersey No

    Rohit Sharma


    Shubman Gill

    Cheteshwar Pujara


    Virat Kohli


    Ajinkya Rahane


    Rishabh Pant


    Ravindra Jadeja


    Ravichandran Ashwin


    Jasprit Bumrah

    Mohammed Shami


    Mohammed Siraj


    Ishant Sharma


    Mayank Agarwal

    Prithvi Shaw


    Hanuma Vihari


    Washington Sundar


    KL Rahul


    Shardul Thakur


    Kuldeep Yadav


    Axar Patel


    For More Cricket News, Click Here

    Previous Article
    Next Article