India vs South Africa – India ODI squad probables

Updated on: Sep 27, 2022 7:04 pm IST

  • India vs South Africa

    India will take on South Africa for a 3-match ODI series right after the T20I series. As per the reports, all the main players who are in line to play in the T20 World Cup in Australia will miss out from this series. The team for the World Cup will leave for Australia on the day of the 1st ODI. So India is expected to come up with a fairly young and new squad for the ODI series. Let’s see who all are the front runners for these slots.

    Shikhar Dhawan to lead the side

    The Indian main team will be leaving for Australia on October 6th for the preparation for the T20 World Cup. Due to that coach Rahul Dravid, permanent captain, Rohit Sharma and all the regulars of the ODI squad will miss out on the ODI series against South Africa. VVS Laxman will take charge of the coaching role in Dravid’s absence. And Shikhar Dhawan will lead the side. As per reports, Sanju Samson will be the vice-captain. Most top performers from the India-A squad that played against New Zealand-A recently are expected to make the cut.

    Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022]

    India vs South Africa: Probable ODI Squad

    Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill will retain the opening slot with Ruturaj Gaikwad being the backup opener. The likes of Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan will retain their places. In the middle order, Rahul Tripathi and Rajat Patidar may get their maiden call-up. Shahbaz Ahmed who has been called in as the replacement for Hardik Pandya in the T20I series is expected to be part of the ODI setup as well. Whereas Avesh Khan, Shardul Thakur, and Mohammad Siraj are expected to form the pace bowling department. Prasidh Krishna who is injured may miss the cut. Either of Raj Bhawa or Rishi Dhawan may also get a call-up to the India ODI Squad.

    T20 world cup 2022 squads of all teams

    India vs South Africa, Probable ODI squad:  Shikhar Dhawan (c), Sanju Samson (vc & wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ishan Kishan (wk), Mohammad Siraj, Avesh Khan, Rahul Chahar, Rishi Dhawan

    Who will win T20 world cup 2022?

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article