Cricket News
| On Feb 24, 2022 12:20 PM IST

India vs Sri Lanka: Aakash Chopra picks India Playing XI for 1st T20I


The Indian team will face off Sri Lanka in T20I series starting February 24. The both teams are marred with injury concerns and unavailability of their key players. The Indian team will be without KL Rahul, Deepak Chahar, and Surya Kumar Yadav due to injury concerns. While Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant have been rested. Here is the predicted India Playing 11 for 1st T20I by commentator Aakash Chopra.

India vs Sri Lanka: Aakash Chopra picks India Playing XI for 1st T20I

Aakash Chopra, who has been quite vocal about his thoughts on Indian cricket team matches on his YouTube Channel has predicted India’s Playing XI for 1st T20I against Sri Lanka.

Related: Suryakumar Yadav ruled out of T20Is vs SL

Aakash opted to open with Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan, while keeping Rohit at no. 3 position, due to his flexibility. While he picked Deepak Hooda over Sanju Samson for no. 5 position.

“You don’t have Rishabh Pant, Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav. I would propose to open with Ishan Kishan alongside Ruturaj Gaikwad. Rohit can bat at No. 3. Ruturaj Gaikwad, you give him three opportunities as well. At No. 4, I am saying Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Hooda at No. 5 and not Sanju Samson. Chopra said

Aakash Chopra picked Chahal, Bumrah, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar as key bowlers due to their experience in T20 format.

At No. 6, I will keep Venkatesh Iyer and I have picked Ravindra Jadeja at No. 7. I will 100% pick Harshal Patel, now Deepak Chahar is also not there. There is actually a toss-up between Chahal and Bishnoi but I will go with Chahal. Bumrah and Bhuvi – I will play both of them. Siraj and Avesh will have to wait.” Aakash added.

Related: Chahar ruled out of SL series, expected to return in IPL

Aakash Chopra’s XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I

If the latest news sources are to be believed, the likes of Kusal Mendis and Maheesh Theekshana will not be available for 1st T20I on 24 February. This will be certainly a major setback to the Sri Lanka team, who are already without Wanindu Hasaranga, Avishka Fernando, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Related: Wanindu Hasaranga ruled out of T20s against India

Predicted Playing 11 for SL: Kusal Mendis/ Kamil Mishara, Pathum Nissanka, Danushka, Gunathilaka, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal ,Janith Liyanage, Dasun Shanaka (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana/ Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Kumara

For more IND vs SL 2022 news, click here

Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.