October 23, 2018
| On 8 months ago

India vs Windies: BCCI announces 12 member team for the second ODI

By Chaitanya Laxman

The Board of Control for cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Indian squad for the second ODI against Windies and as expected the 12 member team features no changes. India will look to continue their domination in the series and hence have decided to field their best playing eleven.

No changes in the 12 member team

The team management has decided to field the same 12 members for the second ODI which means Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayudu will get another chance to consolidate their spot in India’s middle order.

KL Rahul and Manish Pandey on the other hand will continue to warm the benches as they are not a part of the 12 member team.

Image credits @ Twitter

Kuldeep Yadav to replace whom?

India rested Kuldeep Yadav in the first ODI but the decision proved to be a costly one as Windies smashed 322 runs in 50 overs. Hence, Kohli would be itching to bring back the wicket-taking bowler back in the playing eleven.

Also read: Kohli will play till the age of 40, says childhood coach

However for that to happen, Kohli will have to drop one seamer or one spinner. Ravindra Jadeja looks settled in the team while Yuzvendra Chahal had the best economy rate in the first ODI. Thus, India might prefer dropping one pacer to accommodate Kuldeep in the team.

India lead the series by 1-0

In the first ODI which was played at Guwahati, Indian team defeated Windies by eight wickets and has taken 1-0 lead in the series. Indian batsmen Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli produced big hundreds to deliver a thumping win against the visitors.

However, India’s bowling came under the scanner as Windies batsmen made the most of the helpful conditions.

India’s 12 member squad for the second ODI- Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (WK), Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav,  Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Khaleel Ahmed

Chaitanya Laxman