IPL 2021 final: MS Dhoni leads Chennai Super Kings to fourth title

Published on: Oct 15, 2021 11:29 pm IST|Updated on: Oct 15, 2021 11:52 pm IST

Most Popular Team in IPL

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have once again showed their experience having been crowned the winners of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 season defeating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 27 runs in the finals. The MS Dhoni-led team have now won the IPL title four times and twice in the last four years. After having experienced a horrendous campaign in IPL 2020, CSK have turned their fortunes in an incredible manner this season.

Faf du Plessis Powers CSK to Above Par 192 for 3

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, the Chennai Super Kings got off to a brilliant start at the top courtesy in-form batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad looking in a remarkable touch. Gaikwad played a short impactful innings of 32 runs off 27 balls to help CSK get 50 runs in the first six overs of the powerplay. Robin Uthappa too played a crucial cameo of 31 runs off only 15 deliveries that included 3 big sixes. However, the star performer of the first innings was definitely Faf du Plessis who completely took the game away from the opposition in the middle-overs.

Related: Purple Cap Winner in IPL 2021

Faf du Plessis composed a fabulous knock of 86 runs off 59 balls that comprised of 7 fours and 3 sixes. He added a vital partnership of 68 runs with Moeen Ali towards the end to help the CSK team finish with an above-par total of 192 for 3 in their quota of 20 overs. Moeen also smashed important 37 runs off 20 balls in the final few overs. For Kolkata, Sunil Narine was the pick of the bowlers taking two wickets and gave away just 26 runs in his four overs.

IPL 2021 Final Chennai Super Kings

Related: Orange Cap Winner in IPL 2021

Chennai Super Kings Wins Fourth IPL Title

In the second innings, the Kolkata Knight Riders also started things in an aggressive manner as Venkatesh Iyer looked in a terrific form. The left-hander played a superb knock of 50 runs off 32 balls to provide a great foundation at the top. His opening partner Shubman Gill also contributed with a fine innings of 51 runs. However, during the second half of the second-innings, Kolkata suffered a dramatic batting collapse as they lost a total of 8 wickets for just 34 runs.

Related: When will ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Start? 

KKR’s middle-order once again fell like pack of cards and that proved to be the turning point in the final. Eventually, Kolkata Knight Riders managed to finish with 165 for 9 in their 20 overs as the Chennai Super Kings won their fourth IPL title. For CSK, Shardul Thakur picked up three crucial wickets while the duo of Josh Hazlewood and Ravindra Jadeja finished with two scalps each.

For more IPL 2021 news, click here

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article