When will T20 World Cup start?

Published on: Oct 14, 2021 1:44 pm IST|Updated on: Oct 14, 2021 2:01 pm IST

T20 World Cup

The wait for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is almost over. The global event will kick start on 17th October in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. The marquee tournament was scheduled to take place in Indian but the COVID-19 outbreak in the country forced BCCI to shift the tournament to the gulf country. The tournament will see 16 teams taking place, which are divided into two groups. While the group of the first 8 teams are fighting each other to enter the super 12 stages, the other group of 8 teams have already booked a place in the super 12 stages.

Who won the first T20 World Cup? 

The first ever ICC T20 World Cup took place in 2007 and young MS Dhoni led Team India to a famous victory against arch rivals Pakistan to clinch the inaugural edition of the marquee tournament.

Read Also: Where to watch T20 World Cup 2021 warm-up matches? Live streaming, Telecast and Channel List

Since then five more editions of the ICC event has taken place and apart from Team India, Pakistan, England Sri Lanka along with West Indies have won the T20 World Cup. Notably, the ‘Men in Maroon’ have sealed the title twice.

Here’s the list of the winners of the T20 World Cup:

Year World Cup Winners
2007 India
2009 Pakistan
2010 England
2012 West Indies
2014 Sri Lanka
2016 West Indies

Read Also: T20 World Cup Winners List since India’s 2007 WT20 Win

How many World Cup India won? 

Team India have managed to win the ICC T20 title only once. The ‘Men in Blue’ since winning in 2007 have failed to deliver and pressure have got better them of them in every single edition since the inaugural edition. They had a decent chance to clinch their second trophy in 2014 but Lasith Malinga-led Sri Lanka dominated them in the finals and shattered the dreams of Indian fans and team.

Team India

The Virat Kohli-led side were on the top of their game in the 2016 edition of the ICC T20 World Cup but they yet again choked in the knockout phase as West Indies knocked them out in the semi final and then later went on to win the trophy. However in the upcoming edition of the marquee tournament, Team India seem to have all the bases covered and with some fearless players in their side they are one of the favourites to win the title.

Related: Fastest 50 in T20 Internationals | Batting Records

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article