Cricket News
| On Apr 2, 2022 9:24 AM IST

IPL 2022, MI vs RR: Massive boost for Mumbai Indians as THIS top player returns for Match 9


MI vs RR: The Mumbai Indians (MI) got off to an unfortunate start in this 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) having lost their opening game. The Rohit Sharma-led MI team suffered a poor 4-wicket defeat in their opening match of the IPL 2022 season at the hands of Delhi Capitals. In the opening game of the today IPL double-header, the Mumbai Indians will be crossing swords with Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai.

IPL 2022, MI vs RR: Massive boost for Mumbai Indians as THIS top player returns for Match 9

In a huge boost for the five-time champions, right-handed middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav has fully recovered from his thumb injury and will return into the Mumbai Indians playing 11 for the game against Rajasthan Royals on Saturday. He missed the opening game after being at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru to recover from his thumb injury. Suryakumar is very much likely to replace Anmolpreet Singh in the MI playing XI from the last game.

Related: IPL Team owners

Suryakumar Yadav was retained by the Mumbai Indians ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction due to his remarkable performance in the last couple of years. The right-hander notched up a total of 317 runs from 14 matches in the IPL 2021 season.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

Suryakumar Yadav Stats in IPL

Matches Runs Strike-Rate IPL 2021 Performance Recent Form
115 2341 135.71 317 runs 65, 8, 34*, 6, 64


Related: Most sixes in IPL

Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals: Probable MI Playing 11

MI Playing 11
1. Rohit Sharma (C)
2. Ishan Kishan (WK)
3. Suryakumar Yadav

4. Tilak Verma
5. Tim David
6. Kieron Pollard
7. Daniel Sams
8. Murugan Ashwin
9. Basil Thampi
10. Jasprit Bumrah
11. Tymal Mills

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

Suryakumar’s return into the side is the only expected change in the MI playing XI for their second game of the Indian Premier League 2022 against Rajasthan.

MI 2022 Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markandey, N Tilak Verma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Riley Meredith, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Aryan Juyal, Fabian Allen, Mohammad Arshad Khan.

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.