Cricket News
| On Mar 2, 2022 12:51 PM IST

IPL 2022: Shreyas Iyer Appointed KKR Captain. Here’s official update


KKR Captain – In a breaking news, The Indian batsman Shreyas Iyer has been announced as the Kolkata Knight Riders captain for the Indian Premier League 2022 season. The Kolkata Knight Riders team bought Shreyas Iyer for an amount of 12.25 Crores in Indian Premier League 2022 Auction.

KKR Captain

The Kolkata Knight Riders posted an update on Twitter regarding the captaincy announcement of the team in Indian Premier League 2022 season. In the photo update, Shreyas can be seen following the legacy of the past captains like Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik, Gautam Gambhir, Sourav Ganguly, and Brendon McCulum of the Kolkata Knight Riders franchise in the IPL history.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

Here are some reactions on Twitter:

Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 2022 Start Date

The KKR team management picked up quality players in their squad in the IPL 2022 Auction. The two time champions would look to go deep in this season with all their gaps covered. With Shreyas Iyer having an experience to lead Delhi Capitals to reach the playoffs for consecutive times, he would try to help the KKR to their third title as well.

Related: Strongest KKR Playing 11 for IPL 2022

KKR IPL 2022 Squad: Shreyas Iyer (c), Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, Baba Indrajith, Pratham Singh, Ramesh Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Rinku Singh, Abhijeet Tomar, Alex Hales, Aman Hakim Khan, Sheldon Jackson, Sam Billings, Chamika Karunaratne, Ashok Sharma, Rasikh Salam, Tim Southee, Shivam Mavi, Umesh Yadav, Pat Cummins, Anukul Roy, Nitish Rana, Mohammad Nabi

The team had retained 4 players, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy ahead of the IPL 2022 Auction.

Related: Three Stadiums Shortlisted to host IPL 2022

Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.