Cricket News
| On May 20, 2022 1:00 PM IST

IPL Playoffs: Can SRH Qualify for IPL 2022 Playoffs? Here’s the official update


SRH IPL 2022 Playoffs Chances: Things have not worked out really well for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) season so far. After SRH won five games in a row during the mid-stage of the tournament, they looked as one of the top contenders to lift the title. However, the Kane Williamson-led team then ended up losing five consecutive matches which really piled out on to their chances of qualifying for the IPL 2022 playoffs.

IPL Playoffs: Can SRH Qualify for IPL 2022 Playoffs? Here’s the official update

With Royal Challengers Bangalore defeating Gujarat Titans by 8 wickets in the most recent match, the Sunrisers Hyderabad have eventually been eliminated from IPL 2022 playoffs qualification race. The Sunrisers Hyderabad are currently occupying the eighth position on the points table as they have managed to win 6 out of their 13 matches with a negative Net Run Rate of (-0.230). SRH will end their league stage campaign against Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 22 May, 2022 (Sunday).

IPL point table

Teams P W L Pts Nrr
GT (Q)
14 10 4 20 +0.316
14 9 5 18 +0.251
13 8 5 16 +0.304
14 8 6 16 -0.253
13 7 6 14 +0.255
14 6 8 12 +0.146
13 6 7 12 -0.043
13 6 7 12 -0.230
13 4 9 8 -0.206
MI (E)
13 3 10 6 -0.577


Related: IPL Team owners

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings: Probable SRH Playing 11

The Sunrisers Hyderabad will be without their captain Kane Williamson during their last group stage game against Punjab Kings on Sunday as he has already left for New Zealand to be with his wife for the birth of their second child. It is very much likely that senior pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be named the stand-in captain.

SRH Playing 11
1. Abhishek Sharma
2. Priyam Garg
3. Rahul Tripathi
4. Glenn Phillips

5. Aiden Markram
6. Nicholas Pooran (wk)
7. Washington Sundar
8. Fazalhaq Farooqi
9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (C)
10. Umran Malik
11. T Natarajan

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

SRH 2022 squad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar Nicholas Pooran, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, J Suchith, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Romario Shepherd, Sean Abbot, Ravikumar Samarth, Shashank Singh, Sushant Mishra, Vishnu Vinod, Glenn Phillips, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Related: Most sixes in IPL

SRH vs PBKS Head to Head

Matches PBKS Won SRH Won
Overall (18) 5 13
Last 5 IPL Games 1 4

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.