Cricket News
| On Jun 15, 2022 8:27 PM IST

IRE vs IND: India Squad Announced for Ireland T20I Series. Here’s official update


India Squad for IRE vs IND T20I Series: In a massive breaking news, Team India have announced a 17-member squad for the upcoming two-match T20I series against Ireland. Before the start of the long England tour, the Men in Blue are scheduled to play as many as two T20I matches against Ireland starting with the first T20I encounter on 26 June, 2022. Both the Ireland vs India T20I matches are scheduled to be hosted at the Castle Avenue in Dublin.

IRE vs IND: India Squad Announced for Ireland T20I Series. Here’s official update

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the T20I squad for the two matches in Ireland. The big update is that premier all-rounder Hardik Pandya will captain the Indian team in the absence of the senior players while pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named his deputy. In another important development, Rahul Tripathi has earned his maiden call-up in the India T20I squad for the Ireland series while Sanju Samson once again returns to the side. Suryakumar Yadav has also completely recovered from the injury that made him sit out of the South Africa T20Is.

Team India’s Test specialists like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami and Shreyas Iyer are not part of this squad as they are part of the India Test line-up for the fifth and final rescheduled Test match against England scheduled to begin from 1 July, 2022 at the Edgbaston in Birmingham.

Incidentally, senior player Dinesh Karthik has been named as the wicket-keeper in this India T20I squad against Ireland ahead of youngsters like Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. On the other hand, Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik who earned their maiden call-ups for the South Africa T20I series have also retained their spots for the Ireland T20Is as well.

India T20I Squad

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik. 

Probable India Playing 11

1. Ishan Kishan
2. Ruturaj Gaikwad
3. Sanju Samson
4. Suryakumar Yadav
5. Hardik Pandya (C)
6. Dinesh Karthik (wk)
7. Deepak Hooda/Axar Patel
8. Harshal Patel
9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
10. Umran Malik
11. Yuzvendra Chahal

Related: Indian Cricket Team Jersey Numbers

Related: Indian Women Cricket Team 

India vs Ireland 2022 Schedule

Date Format Match Time Venue
26 June, 2022 (Sunday) 1st T20I Ireland vs India 9 PM IST Castle Avenue, Dublin
28 June, 2022 (Tuesday) 2nd T20I Ireland vs India 9 PM IST Castle Avenue, Dublin


Related: IPL Team Owners

For more IRE vs IND 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.