Lanka Premier League Date, Schedule announced for second edition

Updated on: May 20, 2021 12:51 pm IST

  • Lanka Premier League LPL schedule date squads captain teams second edition July August 2021 The complete schedule is yet to be out.

    Lanka Premier League Schedule: The genesis of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 has given a new dimension to the cricketing world. Besides accelerating the T20 match dynamics and breaking the ice between cricketers across the globe, the tournament has been a breeding ground for the young talent to rise and shine. Soon, the domestic T20 culture democratized and are proudly hosted by different nations- Big Bash League (Australia), Pakistan Super League (Pakistan) and the recently evolved Lanka Premier League (Sri Lanka).

    After the successful hosting of the first edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) during the pandemic- November 26 to December 16 last year, the league is all set to roll its second edition of the tournament.

    Also read: Aakash Chopra Predicts India squad for Sri Lanka

    Lanka Premier League Date

    The league hosting board- Sri Lanka Cricket confirmed on Wednesday that the second edition of the Lanka LPL is scheduled for the months of July and August this year. While this window has been set as the threshold to host the tournament, the officials will take a final call regarding the conduction of the tournament after discussions with the Ministry of Health and considering the covid situation that would be persisting closer to the tournament.

    Also read: SL vs IND: Shreyas Iyer Ruled Out of Sri Lanka Tour

    LPL schedule – To start on July 30, Final on August 22

    The opening match of the LPL will take place on July 30, Friday, which will see a clash of finalists of last season. That said the defending champions Jaffna Stallions could square off with last year’s runners-up Galle Gladiators in the opening match of the season. The officials, however, are yet to announce a complete roster and schedule of the tournament.

    Also read: Who will be next the Australian captain?

    The extended 24-day tournament will feature the following five teams – Colombo Kings, Dambulla Viking, Jaffna Stallions, Galle Gladiators and Kandy Tuskers. All the matches will be played in the secured bio-bubbles to ensure complete safety.

    Previous Article
    Next Article