Cricket News
| On Dec 21, 2021 12:28 AM IST

Most Expensive Over in IPL – Indian Premier League


Most Expensive Over in IPL – In the T20 format, the bowlers have to be at their best of the abilities to contain runs and take wickets. The bowlers are using different variations like the slower balls and off cutters to match up to the skills of the batters, who have been innovative as well. In a comparative flat surfaces in India, it has been a hard task for players to bowl well in the Indian Premier League.

Most Expensive Over in IPL

Here’s a list of bowlers who have conceeded most runs in an over in Indian Premier League


Player Team Runs Year
Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 37 2021
Prasanth Parmeshwaran Kochi Tuskers Kerala 37 2011
Parwinder Awana Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) 33 2014
Ravi Bopara Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) 33 2010
Rahul Sharma Pune Warriors 31 2012

Updated 17.12.21

1. Harshal Patel- 37 Runs in IPL 2021

The leading wicket taker in the Indian Premier League 2021 with 32 scalps was unfortunately hammered for 37 runs in a single over by Ravindra Jadeja in the same season. It all happened at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Sequence of Over: 6 6 N6 6 2 6 4

2. Prasanth Parameswaran- 37 Runs in IPL 2011

It was a match between Kochi Tuskers and Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Chris Gayle hit 4 Sixes and 3 fours against Prasanth Parameswaran, which was a 37 run over as well.

Sequence of Over: 6, nb + 6, 4, 4, 6, 6, 4

Related Dangerous Batsman of IPL

3. Parwinder Awana- 33 Runs in IPL 2014

The left handed batter, Suresh Raina has been one of the best players in the Indian Premier League with 5528 runs in 205 matches. In IPL 2011, he was at his prime and hit Parwinder Awana for 33 runs in his knock of 87 off 25 balls.

Sequence of Over:  6, 6, 4, 4, nb + 4, 4, 4

4. Ravi Bopara- 33 Runs in IPL 2010

The England batting all rounder was hit for 33 runs by the pair of Chris Gayle and Manoj Tiwary, while they were playing for Kolkata Knight Riders against Kings XI Punjab (Punjab Kings). It was an 8 ball over, which consisted of 5 extra runs as well.

Sequence of Over: 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, wide + 4, wide + 1, 1

5. Rahul Sharma – 31 Runs in IPL 2012

The leg spinner Rahul Sharma from Pune Warriors was hit for 5 sixes in an over by the Universe Boss Chris Gayle in IPL 2012 during his innings of 81 off 48 balls. In the first delivery, Saurabh Tiwary took a single and then Gayle started his show.

Sequence of Over: 1,6,6,6,6,6

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.