New Zealand T20 World Cup 2024 Playing XI And Squad

Published on: Apr 30, 2024 3:22 pm IST|Updated on: Apr 30, 2024 4:29 pm IST

new zealand t20 world cup playing 11

New Zealand Cricket has unveiled its formidable 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, with Kane Williamson retained as captain. Among the notable inclusions is the seasoned campaigner Matt Henry, set to make his T20 World Cup debut after a remarkable resurgence in form.

The squad comprises a balanced mix of experience and emerging talent, with the likes of Trent Boult and Tim Southee lending their expertise to the fast bowling department. Henry’s selection comes as a result of his stellar performances, particularly in the IPL, where he has showcased his prowess with the ball for Lucknow Super Giants.

Head coach Gary Stead expressed confidence in Henry’s skills across all phases of the T20 game, highlighting his dedication and hard work in earning his place in the squad. With Adam Milne sidelined due to injury, Henry’s inclusion strengthens the pace attack alongside Boult and Southee.

Devon Conway, currently recovering from a thumb injury, has also been named in the squad, expected to assume the wicketkeeping duties ahead of Finn Allen. Michael Bracewell’s return to the fold adds depth to the batting lineup after his impressive leadership in the recent T20I series in Pakistan.

All-rounders Jimmy Neesham and Daryl Mitchell provide versatility to the squad with their pace-bowling abilities, while Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, and Mark Chapman offer spin options in the anticipated slow conditions of the Caribbean and the United States.

Spin twins Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi reunite to bolster the spin department, further enhancing New Zealand’s bowling arsenal.

Exciting prospects include Rachin Ravindra, set to make his T20 World Cup debut after making waves in the 50-over format last year. Stead commended Ravindra’s consistent performances and expressed excitement about his potential contribution to the team’s campaign.

The coaching staff, led by Luke Ronchi as batting coach and Jacob Oram as bowling coach, will be supported by assistant coach James Foster, focusing on fielding.

New Zealand is slated to depart for the tournament on May 23, with their first match against Afghanistan scheduled for June 7 in Guyana.

As anticipation builds for the T20 World Cup, New Zealand’s squad exudes confidence and depth, poised to make a significant impact on the global stage under the astute leadership of Kane Williamson.

New Zealand T20 World Cup 2024 Playing XI

  1. Finn Allen
  2. Devon Conway
  3. Kane Williamson
  4. Daryl Mitchell
  5. Glenn Phillips
  6. Mark Chapman
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. Trent Boult
  9. Ish Sodhi
  10. Tim Southee
  11. Lockie Ferguson

New Zealand T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Kane Williamson (Captain)
Finn Allen
Trent Boult
Michael Bracewell
Mark Chapman
Devon Conway
Lockie Ferguson
Matt Henry
Daryl Mitchell
Jimmy Neesham
Glenn Phillips
Rachin Ravindra
Mitchell Santner
Ish Sodhi
Tim Southee

[Ben Sears – Travelling Reserve]


India T20 World Cup 2024 Playing XI And Squad

South Africa T20 World Cup 2024 Playing XI

England T20 World Cup 2024 Playing XI

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article