Cricket News
| On Apr 17, 2022 1:50 PM IST

PBKS vs SRH IPL 2022: Is Washington Sundar Playing Today?


Washington Sundar IPL 2022: In the first match of the blockbuster Sunday of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) season, the Punjab Kings (PBKS) will be locking horns with the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai. Both these teams have witnessed quite similar fortunes in the ongoing edition of the T20 tournament. The Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings have managed to win 3 out of their 5 matches in the ongoing IPL 2022 season.’

PBKS vs SRH IPL 2022: Is Washington Sundar Playing Today?

In a huge news development, the Sunrisers Hyderabad will once again miss the services of spin bowling all-rounder Washington Sundar who is yet to recover from his hand injury. While fielding during the game against Gujarat Titans, Sundar had torn the webbing in his right hand between his thumb and first finger. Due to the same injury issue, the right-arm off-spinner also missed the last IPL match for the Sunrisers Hyderabad against Kolkata Knight Riders. SRH coach Tom Moody had previous noted that Sundar will be out for atleast two games.

“Washington has torn the webbing in his right hand, between his thumb and first finger. We must monitor that over the next two-three days. Hopefully, it isn’t a significant blow. I’d imagine it’d take probably a week or so to settle down,” said Sunrisers Hyderabad coach Tom Moody after the match against Gujarat Titans.

Related: IPL Team owners

Washington Sundar Stats in IPL

Matches Wickets Economy Runs Recent Form
46 31 7.14 275 0/14, 2/21, 2/28 & 18, 40, 33, 24 & 1/28

Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad: Probable SRH Playing 11

In the absence of Washington Sundar, the Sunrisers Hyderabad are likely to go ahead with an unchanged playing combination for the today IPL match against Punjab Kings.

Related: Most sixes in IPL

SRH Playing 11
1. Abhishek Sharma
2. Kane Williamson (C)
3. Rahul Tripathi
4. Aiden Markram
5. Nicholas Pooran (wk)
6. Shashank Singh
7. Jagadeesha Suchith
8. Marco Jansen
9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
10. Umran Malik
11. T Natarajan

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

SRH 2022 squad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar Nicholas Pooran, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, J Suchith, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Romario Shepherd, Sean Abbot, Ravikumar Samarth, Shashank Singh, Saurabh Dubey, Vishnu Vinod, Glenn Phillips, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.