Cricket News
| On Mar 30, 2022 10:48 AM IST

Run machine in IPL – List of Batsmen who’ve stockpiled runs in Indian Premier League


Run machine in IPL – In the history of the Indian Premier League many batsmen have set the stage on fire. This list sheds light on those who have dominated the tournament with their performances.

Run machine in IPL

Let’s look at Run machine in IPL, the most prolific batsmen in Indian Premier League

Player Matches Runs Average Strike rate
1. Virat Kohli 207 6283 37.4 129.95
2. Shikhar Dhawan 191 5783 34.63 126.73
3. Rohit Sharma 211 5611 31.17 130.4
4. Suresh Raina 205 5528 32.52 136.73
5. David Warner 150 5449 41.59 139.97

1. Virat Kohli

Royal Challengers Bangalore batting great Virat Kohli is the Run machine in IPL. Being the only batter in the league, who has crossed the 6000 run-mark as of now, Virat Kohli is arguably not only the best batter in IPL but in the world cricket as well. Making his debut for RCB in 2008, Kohli so far has scored 6283 runs at an average and strike rate of 37.4 and 129.95 respectively. He also has the record of most runs in a season when he scored 973 runs in IPL 2016. The right-hander also has smashed five centuries in the league.

Related: Highest Score in IPL 

2. Shikhar Dhawan 

Senior Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan is second on the list of Run machine in IPL. The southpaw rightfully deserves the second spot as he over the years has put hard yards and many a time led his team to the victories. The opening batter has played for Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers, and Sunrisers Hyderabad in his IPL career and in a total of 191 matches, he has 5783 runs at an average and strike rate of 34.63 and 126.73 respectively. Notably, Dhawan in IPL 2020 became the first batter to smash two consecutive centuries. He achieved the feat against Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings.

3. Rohit Sharma 

Not only ‘Hitman’ Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in IPL but the swashbuckling batter has been the prolific run-getters in the marquee tournament. With 5611 matches in the league, Sharma sits third on the list of Run machine in IPL. The right-hander played for Deccan Chargers till 2010 but then was picked by Mumbai Indians in 2011. Considered as one of the best batters in world cricket, Rohit Sharma has set the benchmark for various youngsters to take their game to a different level and has also won the IPL title six times.

Related: IPL Centuries List 

4. Suresh Raina 

A huge success in the marquee tournament has given Suresh Raina the title of Mr. IPL. The left-hander was the first batter in the history of the tournament to reach 5000 runs and is also the first Indian to smash 100 sixes in the cash-rich league. Being the only batter to score 400 runs in seven consecutive seasons of IPL (2008-2014), Suresh Raina is next on the list of Run machine in IPL. Playing for Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Lions, Raina has scored 5528 runs at average and strike rate of 32.52 and 136.73 respectively.

5. David Warner 

David Warner has been one of the most consistent batters in the history of Indian Premier League. Having played fewer matches than his other counterpart in a list, Warner has scored 5449 runs at an average and strike rate of 41.59 and 139.87. The explosive opener represented Delhi Capitals in his early days and then later became an integral part of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Having won the orange cap record-three times, he is fifth on the list of Run machine in IPL.

Follow us on Google News

Ankit Jit Singh

Dream was to play cricket, but job is to serve cricket